Quoting the Quill #33

quoting the quill small

“I hate writing, I love having written.”

– Dorothy Parker

~ * ~

This quote is so darn true! The act of writing is wonderful, but often it can also be a real struggle. It frustrates me when I can’t get the words to align in the order I want them to, sometimes it can even put me in a seriously bad mood. This can happen whether I’m writing an essay, story or blog post. Yet there’s nothing that makes me feel more accomplished or proud than a finished product I’m happy with! Seeing that all the work and thought has paid off is so rewarding. I enjoy it so much in fact that I find it addictive, it automatically makes me want to write all over again. An endless cycle of frustration and gratification. 🙂

Do you ever have this internal battle with your own writing?

Have a happy clappy Wednesday guys!

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

36 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #33

  1. All the time. Constantly. I know exactly what I want to convey or say or what image I want people to have and sometimes I just can’t get the words in the right order 😦

  2. There are some days every word is a struggle.
    Of course, there are some days when my pen has a direct link to my brain, so…

    Will you be posting any of your stories?

  3. How true that quote is. It’s always incredibly hard to get exactly what you want to say out there on the page and the world, even with lots and lots of practice. You send words out and many times wish you could have them back to edit and polish them some more.

    Someone compared writing to raising children: You try and bring them up the best way you know how, but still you make mistakes you can’t change. They go into the world and make you proud or break your heart…but either way, you love them.

    And when you *do* get it right, there’s nothing can touch it. Nothing at all.

    • Glad it resonated with you too, Tony. I completely agree. Some days when I look at the words on the page I think they’re all awful and feel like deleting the whole thing, then I can go back another day and think they’re quite good. It’s funny how your mind can play tricks on you. Getting the words out is always the hard bit, but looking back on them for the first time afterwards is also pretty scary I find.

      I love that idea, it works well! 🙂

  4. ‘An endless cycle of frustration and gratification’ – excellent wording! Couldn’t have put it better myself 🙂

    It takes me ages to write anything and when I’ve finished I’m generally not fully happy with the end product. Despite that, actually completing an essay or blog post and handing it in/publishing is one of the best feelings. It does make you feel like you’ve accomplished something!

    It’s a constant struggle but it’s such a buzz too. Wouldn’t have it any other way!

    • Haha, ta muchly. I guess my words were working okay the day I wrote this, eh? 😛

      I agree, it is so difficult to write something and be happy with it, but then again sometimes that happens and then you have to edit it out…which is even more soul crushing!

      A buzz is the perfect word. 🙂

  5. Oh God yes. I hate my own writing and I constantly wish I was more academic in my writing style, so often I try hard to make it sound clever, but it comes off as pretentious and too try-hard. *sigh* Oh well. At least I don’t have to write any more essays, so I don’t have this problem any more!

    • I feel ya! I write my academic essays and I always make them sounds really nice like I would with a story or a blog post. Then I find I’m like 500 words over the word count and have delete all of my lovely fluffy words because the science peeps that mark my essays don’t like them! It’s a right pain.

      At least pretentious is probably a better way to go than too simple or informal. That my friend is very true, you are freeeeeeeeeeee! Enjoy. 🙂

  6. It was like listening to myself :). There are times when I struggle to write a book review for an author, but then one time part of my review ended up on the back cover of the book, and I was so damn proud of myself! I am hard on myself though, and I think you are too. I won’t just slap words on a page and be done with it. I have to rework it over and over until I’m happy with it :).

    • Who knew there were so many of us with this internal writing battle? 🙂 I thought you might agree with me on this one, Cindy, because just like me I know you are a bit of a perfectionist! I refuse to publish reviews on my blog until I am at least 95% happy with them and writing a review can put me in a bad mood when I can’t get it to say what I want it to!
      Ended up on the back of a book, whoa, that is so amazing. You should be proud. 🙂 If that happened to me I would be ecstatic.
      You’re right, I think we are too hard on ourselves. But we’re not about to change are we? 🙂

  7. I love writing the first fifty-seventyfive pages of a book and then the last fifty pages, but definitely during the middle I go through the process you described. I always find myself getting distracted with things like…well, this blog post.

    • Ohh I couldn’t agree more! It’s always the middle – or any form of writing that I struggle with the most. Whether something fun or an essay it’s where I begin to lag, when the initial buzz has worn off and you’re not close enough to the end to be excited.

      Hahaa! Touche. 😀 In that case good luck with returning to the writing!

      • Wow that was a quick reply! Are you procrastinating again by any chance? 😉
        Just kidding.
        We all have those tiresome days, you have to push though it but it’s a lot easier said than done!

  8. Argh, I cannot tell you how much I relate to this. The process of writing is so very VERY frustrating, but when I finish, and I look at what I’ve written, I feel a twinge – okay, it’s more than a twinge – of pride.

    • I’d compare it with going to the gym.

      As I walk in and get changed, I can’t stop thinking about how much of a pain in the arse the entire thing is. However, once I’ve finished and showered I feel on top of the world and simply can’t understand why I ever doubted myself.

    • Thanks, Zen, I’m so glad you have this problem as well. Sometimes it can make you feel a little crazy so it’s good to be reminded that most people have this problem at some point!

      That twinge of pride makes it all worth it. 🙂

  9. Yep, love this quote! The process of writing is a fabulous one, and the feeling of having finished writing is a wonderful end result. Hope you’re doing okay writing your negative book review, and keep this quote in mind. (:

    • There’s nothing quite like that feeling when you finish a piece of writing you’re proud of. 🙂

      Haha that’s true, thank you. I’m just about to publish it actually!

Leave a Reply

