Quoting the Quill #35

quoting the quill small

“What an astonishing thing a book is. It’s a flat object made from a tree with flexible parts on which are imprinted lots of funny dark squiggles. But one glance at it and you’re inside the mind of another person, maybe somebody dead for thousands of years. Across the millennia, an author is speaking clearly and silently inside your head, directly to you.
Writing is perhaps  the greatest of human inventions, binding together people who never knew each other, citizens of distant epochs.
Books break the shackles of time. A book is proof that humans are capable of working magic.”

– Carl Sagan

~ * ~

I’m going to counteract my previous ramble-y Quoting the Quill by simply saying: Books are awesome. That is all. 😉

I hope everyone is having a great Wednesday!

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

22 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #35

  1. Carl Sagan was great for quotes, and that’s one of his best. Immortality through writing, I like it.

    Having a great Wednesday, reading Neil Gaiman in the back garden!

  2. I actually have this quote in my list of favourite book quotes. I love it!! By the way, do you have any hints to keep me awake tonight? I am reading The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness, the final book in the trilogy, and last night I kept falling asleep even though it’s amazing LOL. Why can’t I be more of a night person?????

  3. This quote totally expresses everything that I’ve ever thought about books which I’ve been unable to articulate! It gives me goosebumps *shiver*

Leave a Reply

