The Hills are Alive…With the Sound of my Bookcase Creaking.

book haul

Hello all! It’s that book haul time again. You know, where I begin to hyperventilate and go completely bonkers at the sight of pretty inanimate objects.
I have to say, I think I’ve been doing pretty well on the book buying front lately, while I gave up on my naïve attempt at a book ban a while back (which everyone but me knew wasn’t going to work) I’ve still been trying to restrain myself when it comes to my bookish whims. After all, if I had my way I would buy the ENTIRE store, and my TBR pile is nearing 200. Although actually now I think about it, due to my latest escapades it’s probably over that now…whoops.
However, a couple of weeks ago my second year university results came though. I discovered that I had passed everything with flying colours, including my soul sucking statistics course which was the biggie because it’s the only module everyone has to pass in order to go onto to their third year, and it was my one weak spot. Safe to say, it was a big relief! So of course, I chose to treat myself by buying a tonne of books I had been lusting after.
So, onto the bookish goodness. 😀

Patrick Ness booksMy first sign of weakness was purchasing all things Patrick Ness, which was maybe a little premature seeing as I haven’t even read A Monster Calls yet and for all I know I could dislike his writing. But I doubt it. I have a good feeling about this author, I can’t quite explain why. His Chaos Walking Trilogy which begins with The Knife of Never Letting Go has been recommended to me by numerous bloggers who’s opinions I trust, so I snapped it up when I saw the lot for under £7. The trilogy’s a YA dystopian and the characters live in a town where everyone can hear each others thoughts. That’s essentially all I know but it sounds like a cool concept and I’m really into my dystopian right now. Because I’ve been pacing the amount of books I read in this genre, I haven’t got sick of it yet unlike so many other people! The second book More than This I bought, if I’m honest, purely for the cover. I LOVE IT SO MUCH. With the black and the white with the stark neon yellow contrast. GIMMIE. I’m a big fan of simplistic covers that make an impact. Add in the fact that it’s a hardback and I was a gonner, I snapped it up for a cheeky £5. The novel is about a boy who distinctly remembers drowning, but finds himself very much alive. It sounds odd and I have no idea what to expect. Will it live up to the cover? I hope so.

YA Contemporary books

Next up, two new 2014 releases I’m really excited about! They’re rejected review copies I picked up from my favourite second hand bookshop for under £3 each. Both were on my wishlist so I couldn’t believe my luck! Trouble by Non Pratt is a tale of teenage pregnancy but with a twist because a new boy at school offers to pretend to be the baby’s father. Way to hook a reader. As soon as I read the blurb I wanted to know WHY a boy so young who didn’t know anybody at his school would want do such a thing that would make him the target of so much controversy. I’ve heard so many positive things about this book so I can’t wait to read it. 😀
Tease by Amanda Maciel also popped onto my radar shortly after it’s release due to it’s brave concept. It follows a girl who is legally charged for bullying someone because her victim commits suicide. I’ve never read a novel where the topic of bullying is at the forefront, I guess I had never come across one that piqued my interest enough. Tease however, sounds like a fascinating read full of moral dilemma’s and I like the idea of it being from the bully’s perspective. Can anyone ever be held responsible for someone else’s suicide when the act itself is carried out by the individual? How much accountability should a bully be held to? Bullying is a cruel thing, and I’m hoping this novel with touch on the topic in a respectful, thought provoking way. From a psychology student point of view it sounds brilliant, especially taking in account the element of bystander bias.

Fantasy books

These two appealed to the fantasy side of my brain. I first spotted The Shambling Guide to New York City by Mur Lafferty when the publisher Orbit Books featured it on their site. I was drawn to it instantly, the bright colours, the comic book illustration style and of course, the quote on the front cover that compared it to Buffy. Add in the bonus of it following a travel writer creating a guide to New York City for the undead and I was sold. Maybe I’m a sucker for advertising but it sounds right up my alley and in theory, has all the elements to make me fall in love with it!Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Throne of Glass has been popping up on my Goodreads feed for a while now and it caught my attention because of Niki’s awesome reviews and its kick-ass front cover. Seriously, LOOK HOW FIERCE THIS GIRL’S FACE IS. I LOVE IT. Add in the swagger walk, ripped clothing and serious hair swish she has going on and I had to have it! I’m such a sucker for strong female protagonists with sass, seriously, I have a problem. This book is the first in a trilogy that follows a female assassin in a fantasy world. I feel like I can totally justify buying this book because I haven’t read anything assassin related in a while, and everyone needs at least one assassin in their life, right?

YA, Rick Yancey and Libba Bray

Next up we have The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey and The Diviners by Libba Bray. Again I got both of these for under £3 which is practically criminal for such pretty hardbacks but hey, it’s my gain! The Diviners was a bit of a punt on my part, I’d seen it floating around the internet and I vaguely remembered Notes in the Margin reviewing it, but mostly it drew me in because of its 1920s setting. It’s an era I’ve become quite interested in since reading The Great Gatsby and I was curious to see what a YA fantasy author would do with it. Fingers crossed!
The 5th Wave however was pure impulse, I saw it and I wanted it. I remember Goodreads going crazy over it when it was released and now it’s being turned into a movie. It’s got aliens, it’s got dystopia and it’s got apocalyptic shenanigans, should be good stuff. 🙂

YA, Half Bad and Dangerous Creatures

Then we have two witchy, YA books, again, courtesy of the second hand bookshop. Dangerous Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl is the first book in a spin of series set in the same world as the Caster Chronicles. It follows Ridley, a dark Caster and siren prone to mischief. Initially, I wasn’t sure if I was going to try this spin off, especially as I was only half way though the Caster Chronicles but when I saw it so cheap I could hardly resist! So far the authors have had a knack for setting an atmosphere that keeps me coming back for more so I hope that this will the case with this new series.
Half Bad by Sally Green however, I don’t know much about, except that it has witches and has been hyped within an inch of its life. I’m looking forward to adding my own two cents.

YA, The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence

Finally we have The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence. Again this hardback was THREE POUNDS. I don’t understand this. Why are retails underestimating the value of gorgeous hardbacks? Is there something I don’t know?
I saw this one reviewed by the lovely Miscrawl and I was kind of on the fence about it, however, as soon as I saw the price I yelled MINE’ possessively and added it to my basket because honestly, isn’t it beautiful with the weird grass and hollywood sign-esk typography? It follows a teenage boy who befriends a widower and somehow as a result ends up being pulled aside at customs with a bunch of drugs and an urn full of ashes. As you do! It sounds bizarre and quirky, and I’m quite into bizarre and quirky at the moment.

The lesson of this post? Bloggers, you must stop recommending awesome books to me, I’m inundated and have no impulse control!!! It’s really the equivalent of animal cruelty when you think about it. You keep feeding me books so I eat them, and if we’re not careful I’m going to be one overstuffed kitten. Yeah okay… that analogy just got weird.

Safe to say I think we’ve all acknowledged that I am not to be trusted with the books, or the book catalogues, or access to public transport which has the potential to get me to where the books live…
Have you been on any book splurges lately? Read any of the books above? What are you looking forward to reading most this July? 🙂

Image Sources:
All my own, please do not reuse.

46 thoughts on “The Hills are Alive…With the Sound of my Bookcase Creaking.

  1. I reckon that you’re completely bonkers but these buying sprees of yours always make smile, so I guess it’s a good thing really.

    I’m very surprised at the low price of those hardbacks, there must be some serious stock-dumping going on with them.

    Congrats on the exam results by the way. I hate maths so fully sympathise with statistics being your worst area.

    • It’s highly probably that I am completely bonkers! But I’m having so much fun that I don’t really mind. 🙂 Glad it made you smile.

      I was too, I couldn’t believe it. Especially as they are reasonably new releases from the last two years-ish. You can understand how I couldn’t resist!

      Thank you, it was a huge relief. I hate maths with a passion too. I thought I’d gotten rid of it after secondary school but no, algebra and numbers have returned with avengeance!

  2. Ah, it seems we have a similar affinity for PRETTY BOOKS – “I don’t even care what is inside but I must have on my shelf” books. 🙂 I had a hard time with the Diviners, but it does do a good job at portraying the 1920’s pretty authentically. I’ll be adding a few of these to my (ever-growing) to read pile as well.

    • Yes, buy the pretty books, BUY ALL THE PRETTY BOOKS. I can’t help it, when it comes to books I’m totally vain. Like you, if the cover is awesome enough I’ll want to buy it even if I haven’t read the blurb. 🙂
      I remember that your review for the Diviners was a little torn, but it piqued my interest all the same.
      Yay for never-ending tbr piles!

  3. Congratulations on passing your statistics! You know that 88.2% of statistics are made up on the spot, right? 😉

    After that, you deserved to treat yourself….and WHERE are you finding these? £3? £5? Amazing prices.

    You’re going to be pulled into the Patrick Ness. I couldn’t read them fast enough – not to say they were perfect, by any means – but he has a way of tugging you into his worlds and characters. Some interesting font choices and different page layouts as well. Haven’t read More than This, you might beat me to that one!

    The Fifth Wave is a cracker of a book as well, a fantastic premise. The sequel is out later this year.

    That’s Glastonbury Tor on the Gavin Extance book!

    • Thank you, Tony! Hahaa, I believe I have heard that one. 😉

      I know right? There’s nothing like maths and statistics to make a reader splurge some money on books. It’s blatantly the only way to balance it out, ha.

      I know right? Most of these brilliant deals are actually from The Book People, you should check out their website. Most of their books are expensive but certain ones they’ve obviously stocked a lot or expect to be popular can be extremely cheap. That’s where the £3 hardbacks came from and it’s also where I picked up the entire Hunger Games trilogy for only 4.99 and my massive 16 book Dickens collection for £17!

      I hope you’re right. 🙂 I think it’s okay for a book to have flaws if it still manages to immerse you in the story. Maybe I will! I noticed you already beat me to A Monster Calls. I love the blurb for The 5th Wave so I’m hoping it will be good.

      So it is! I just looked it up. Thanks for the trivia.

  4. You’ve got some proper bargains there! The Knife of Never Letting Go is one I’ve been pondering for a while so I’ll be interested to see what you make of it. And The Universe versus Alex Woods is sublime and about a subject very close to my heart so in doubly intrigued as to your opinions on that.

    Happy reading!

    • Thanks, I think so! I’m always looking out for book bargains and I was super happy with these. Ohh right, cool, I will let you know how I get on with them. 🙂 I hope they will be good because I’ve heard a lot of great things.
      Ohh yes of course! I forgot that you had read Alex Woods, I remember your wonderful review. I hope I will like it as much as you did!

      • Me too, I used to work about 2mins from a fantastic secondhand book shop, I miss it so much now!

        I’m looking forward to your reviews with so much to read it must be hard to know where to start :s Enjoy!

        Oh and congratulations on passing second year, especially statistics bleurgh!!

      • I’ve been feeling nostalgic about last summer when I was working in my favourite second hand bookshop too. And there was another one only two shops down but it’s closed now, so sad! I guess it wasn’t popular enough.

        It’s definitely hard to know where to start with so many books to choose from! I’m like a kid in a sweet shop.

        Thank you. 🙂

  5. Insanely jealous about your new haul! It’s been ages since I got any books! If you’re ever in the Bath/Bristol area, you should head to a village called Hallatrow, they have a thing called the Book Barn, its a renovated barn which is FULL of books that are all £1!! Its incredible! (Also Maisie Williams judges competitions there cos she lives nearby!) Excited to see what you think of Chaos Walking, I kinda loved it! And Throne of Glass, I met Sarah Maas at Cheltenham Lit Fest and she seemed so nice!

    • Aha, thanks, Leah! I’m sorry to hear that it’s been so long since you’ve managed to purchase books. The Book Barn sounds AMAZING. I just looked it up and oh boy, book heaven. 😀 Thanks for the tip. Honestly, I’m hyperventilating at the thought of it.
      Thanks, I’m so excited to hear that you loved Chaos Walking, I hope I will like it as much as you did. Also, super jealous you met Sarah J. Maas!!

  6. Inundated – a perfect word to describe how I am feeling lately too :). I have so many bloody books to read it’s ridiculous, and then I ended up re-reading the first two books by Deborah Harkness to get ready for the release of the third book this week, which totally took over my entire life. I couldn’t think of anything but The Book of Life. I couldn’t concentrate at work and ended up reading a few times at my desk instead of working. Phew! I didn’t get caught :). The problem (well not really a problem) this summer is that all the big releases I have been waiting for are HUGE books, so I won’t be getting through as many as usual. But let’s get to what’s important here. Does it matter that technically we don’t need all these books and that our lives would go on without them? Of course not. What matters is that our beloved books let us escape from the stresses of real life and make us truly and deeply happy. The fact that our TBR piles are humongous is just insurance so that we will always be happy :). By the way, you book haul has me hyperventilating LOL!!

    • YES. There are far too many awesome books to buy and or read at the moment! Just when I think I’ve got my TBR pile down it shoots back up again because of hauls like this one, LOL. It’s so hard to find time to reread these days but I do think it’s important, especially when it’s because you love a series of book so much. It can be so comforting to return to it. I think it’s great that Harkness totally took over your life for a period of time, sounds like perfect escapism and it’s always amazing when an author can affect you that much! Reading at work = the EPITOME OF AWESOME. You rebel. 🙂 I just finished reading a book that’s had quite a similar effect and now I am nursing a SERIOUS BOOK HANGOVER. Agh. I just don’t feel like I can pick up another book yet because my head is so stuck in the previous one.
      Ahh yes, that is frustrating when all the books are so large! Just remember it’s what you get out of the book not how many you can get through. 😉
      NO, it does NOT matter at all. We love our books and they make us happy. BOOKS RULE! I love that, thinking of a TBR pile as happiness insurance. 😀

      Hahaha! I’m so glad. Always great to chat with you, Cindy.

      • You always understand me book buddy. I, too, am having a hard time picking up another book right now because my heart is still in The Book of Life. Which book gave you the book hangover (which I think is a great term by the way)?

      • Yes! It’s so hard when you’re totally invested in something and then it just ends, it’s like what do I do with my life now?!? Not sure where the book hangover term came from, but it seems to be all around the internet on memes and ecards!

        It was actually Trouble by Non Pratt pictured above! Such a smart, funny and emotional read. It somehow had me crying and snorting with laughter at the same time. 😀 It’s one of the best books I’ve read all year! Would 100% recommend it, not that you need more books to buy, LOL.

      • Ok, you’ve done it again. I definitely have to look for this one now :). I’m having so much fun online tonight. I’m part of a discussion group on Facebook for the All Souls Trilogy, and everyone is freaking out because some bookstores in the US are giving away these sort of companion books that go with the series. Everyone is so nice, and I think I found someone who will send me an extra one they are getting. I just love book people :).

      • Yay!

        Awwh wow, that’s so kind of them. Book people are totally the best. The companion book sounds intriguing, hopefully it will give you a little more insight into the story and or its author. 🙂 Such clever marketing for enthusiastic fans. I love all the extra and sneak peeks they do that increase the excitement around a book.

      • It’s not that it really gives insight into the book. It’s just a replica of a commonplace book that the main character uses in the story. It’s really just a really cool souvenir :). I really hope these people come through for me! I’m crossing my fingers.

  7. Firstly, congrats on passing second year! I never doubted you for a second 😉 Secondly, way to go on buying amazing books for such cheap prices! I think everything you’ve picked up is stuff I’ve wanted to try.

    Seeing that box full of papery goodness fills me with utter jealously and admiration. I keep having to resist buying stuff off the Book People, but NOTHING can beat that feeling when you open up the cardboard and see a load of new books.

    • Thank you. 🙂 I think I was the only one who doubted me to be honest, typical Becky style! Hahaa, maybe I should put it on my CV, exceptionally gifted at finding book bargains. 😛

      It makes me feel warm and fuzzy every time I look at it. I love The Book People so much, I spend way too much time browsing there. Agreed, opening a box of new books is the best feeling.

  8. A book buying problem is the best kind of problem to have. A TBR list of 200 books – that’s actually not bad. Ever since I gave in and bought a Kindle my TBR list looks something closer to 500. Yikes! Enjoy all the pretty books, Becky.

    • I 100% agree with you, Emma. 🙂 500, WOW! I thought I was bad, lol. Although I guess in that respect I’m lucky that I don’t own a kindle because I think it’s highly likely I would buy even more books if I had one.

      Thank you, enjoy all your kindle books too. 🙂

  9. This is such a lovely detailed post! Woah, I acutally have many things to say. First of all, I like your blog 🙂 and CONGRATS for your university results. ^^ Also, that Tease book looks so great. ME.WANT. And that boy-pretends-to-be-the-baby-s-dad book looks interesting as well. I read Half Bad and liked it (3 stars). It’s different….you’ll see. Also, I hope you’ll like Throne of Glass which I read back in September and though it was really good. I’m currently reading The Diviners by the way. It’s slow but has potential I believe. Surely a hit or miss though. I can’t wait to read Clockwork Angel which I have and never read. xd

    Happy reading! And thank you for stopping by!^^

    Lola @ Hit or Miss Books

    • Awwh, thank you so much! 😀 Book haul posts are my favourite to write because I get so caught up and excited while typing.
      I really hope Tease lives up to my expectations, it has so much promise. Also, I just finished Trouble the teen pregnancy book and it was AMAZING. One of the best books I have read all year so I would 100% recommend it!
      Oooh, I’m glad to hear that you thought Half Bad was different, that was my initial worry about it because it seemed like your average run of the mill YA fantasy. If the cover for Throne of Glass even slightly represents the story inside I’m sure I will love it. Such a gorgeous cover. You’re reading The Diviners? No way! What a cool coincidence. I think someone mentioned above that they found it a bit slow so I will keep that in mind when I attempt it myself, thanks. 🙂

      Thank you for reading!

  10. Awesome book haul! I get so excited when I see people buying books I loved (The 5th Wave and The Diviners)!! I also recently bought Throne of Glass because of the reviews and also yes the girl on the cover looks so fierce! I love badass female protagonists. I love the cover of “The Universe Vs Alex Woods”. I hadn’t heard of it but I’ll check it out on Goodreads now.
    I’m planning on going on a book buying ban but book hauls!! I always see books that look so good that I just must get them haha
    Great post and I hope you enjoy your books! 🙂

    • Thank you! I get super excited when I read other people’s book hauls too. So glad to hear that you got on with the 5th Wave and The Diviners, hopefully I will like them as much as you did. 🙂 Lets hope that Throne of Glass lives up to both of our expectations, if the cover is anything to go by it should be awesome!
      Ahh, I totally understand your dilemma, I struggle with it every day. I need to stop buying books but I can’t help it!

      Thank you. 🙂

  11. So jealous of your book haul! I want to read Throne of Glass so bad, everyone says it’s more amazing than amazingness itself. Unfortunately, it’s not at my library yet, and I remain broke. Still, one day I swear I’m going to get to it!

  12. Ahhhh I am so incredibly jealous of your book haul! I need to go on a book shopping trip soon. Wait… no, I mustn’t. I still have over 60 books on my shelves that I haven’t even touched. BUT I’M SO WEAK. Uhm.

    More Than This has such a fantastic cover and I don’t blame you for picking it up solely based on that. I would’ve done the same. Also, I have The Universe Versus Alex Woods on my shelves too, but I have yet to read it. I thought the concept seemed nice though!

    • Hahaa, you have no idea how much I empathise with your train of thought. I have a constant battle in my head about whether I should or should not buy ALL THE BOOKS. I feel your pain!

      Ah thanks, I’m glad you agree with my crazy bookworm logic. 🙂 Now I just have to hope that the story inside is as good as the cover! Oooh, if you get to Alex Woods first you’ll have to let me know what you thought.

  13. This is one of the best titles I’ve ever read (haha). I know my TBR shelf has creaked in the past, but I’ve finally started to get it under control and only have 20 books on my TBR shelf. Your new reads look exciting! I I had a small book haul this weekend when I went to my favorite used bookstore and I’ve already read through one.

    • Oh thank you, I’m so glad you liked it! I always find it tough to come up with creative book haul titles. Wow, only 20 TBR books, my pile hasn’t been that low in years! What an amazing achievement, congrats. 🙂
      I’m hoping all the books above will be exciting, I have a really good feeling about some of them. Second hand bookshops are the BEST. I hope you enjoy your new books!

Leave a Reply

