Quoting the Quill #36

quoting the quill small

“One day Alice came to a fork in the road and saw a Cheshire cat in a tree.
‘Which road do I take?’ she asked.
‘Where do you want to go?’ was his response.
‘I don’t know’, Alice answered.
‘Then’, said the cat, ‘it doesn’t matter.’”

– Lewis Carroll

~ * ~

There seem to be two different versions of this quote on the internet, I prefer this one (which appears to use more modern language) but both have the same key message at heart. In life, we all worry if we’re on the right path, if we’ve taken a sharp left when we should have gone right. If we chose to buy the tuna sandwich when we really wanted the chicken and mayo.
It’s human nature to question ourselves and worry about the road left untravelled. Experiments have even shown that our brains are happier when we have fewer choices, otherwise we spend a decent length of time worrying about all the options we didn’t choose.

I love how this quote applies such simplistic logic to a universal problem, and yet it’s an answer we don’t ever consider. It stumps you, because it’s kind of true. If you don’t know where you want to end up, you can’t go wrong by simply picking a path. And who knows where it will take you.

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

20 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #36

  1. My path is very clear this week. In two days we leave for Paris, London, and Scotland. Wahooooo!! If you’re not doing anything on Friday, August 8th, you should totally hop on a train to London :). We are meeting up with TBM that day.

    • And what an amazing path it is too! You’re going to have an incredible time, I just know it. 🙂 Of course, you will have to shower me and all your other blog followers with a tonne of photos from your trip so we can all live vicariously through you! It’s so cool to see other people’s impressions of London when they see it from another cultures perspective. Look forward to hearing about all your crazy adventures.

  2. Love this! Whenever I have to make decisions I tend to spend waaaay too much time thinking things through, so this is actually great advice for me!

  3. I like that you chose a positive interpretation of this quote. I think I sometimes we get overwhelmed feeling we have to have direction/purpose. It’s nice to be reminded that adventure awaits no matter what we choose.

    • Thanks, Alena! To be honest, I never even thought that there was a negative interpretation, it instantly hit me as positive. I mean, it is terrifying sometimes when you don’t have a goal to head towards or you’re not sure what you want to do with your life, but sometimes I feel we forget that it can be good to sit back and see where life takes us – within reason of course. But then again, I’ve always been a sucker for a good adventure. 😉

  4. If you don’t know where you’re going, all roads lead there. That quote was on the back of a toilet door in one of the bathrooms at college. It stuck with me. 😉

  5. Pingback: Bloggin' Recap: In With the New | The Day Dreamer and Candy EaterThe Day Dreamer and Candy Eater

  6. Me and decision making do not get along. I never know if I’m on the right path and I constantly worry and fret over things that I haven’t done or decisions that I haven’t made. I should bear this quote in mind! Brilliant choice 🙂

    • I think a lot of us struggle with what we should be, what we actually are and where we should be going in life! There are so many choices so how are we supposed to know which one is right?! It’s a constant struggle. I think we both needs this one in bold writing on our walls, LOL. 😀

Leave a Reply

