Quoting the Quill #40

quoting the quill small

“In new situations, all the trickiest rules are the ones nobody bothers to explain to you. (And the ones you can’t Google.)”

– Rainbow Rowell (Fangirl)

~ * ~

Yes. Yes. A THOUSAND TIMES YES. This quote resonates with me so much and I’m sure it will with a lot of other people too. It’s so awkward when you go into a new situation and don’t know how to act. Where do you stand? Where should you look? How should you act? There are so many unwritten rules in our society that it can be exhausting! Since I’ve just returned to to university this seemed like quite an apt quote. It’s a place where there are lots of unwritten rules and sometimes not even Google can help ya!

Have a fabtastical Wednesday everyone. 🙂

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

22 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #40

  1. I have never felt comfortable with new situations. I was painfully shy as a child, and I have fought to overcome that, but it’s still very difficult for me to face new situations, especially on my own. We have to fact these situations though don’t we? Good luck at uni this year Book Buddy :).

  2. Loved this quote! Have you met Rainbow Rowell yet? She’s pretty awesome! Very funny.
    I feel like this quote applies to me when I’m writing. Cuz even though I can look up techniques and tricks, and other nifty things, you really can’t find ways to write a good book. Great post! And FANGIRL is one of my favorite books.

    • Glad you liked it! Nope, I haven’t met her. I was so annoyed because she came to an area near me but I was unable to go. Maybe I’ll catch her another time if I’m lucky.
      Oooh, that’s an interesting spin on it. I get what you mean. Good luck with the writing!
      Fangirl is a great book. 🙂

    • Agreed! Fangirl was a brilliant book, I’m so glad I read it last year because I feel like the story came to me when I really needed it – if that makes sense? Cath was very like me in a lot of ways!

      I’m hoping to pick up Eleanor & Park pretty soon. 🙂

  3. Good luck at Uni! Did I see somewhere on Twitter that this is your last year? What will you do then?

    That’s a great quote…there are no rules for the unwritten rules of the world. Like some Middle Eastern countries where it’s considered rude to show someone the soles of your feet. How would you even *guess* something like that?

    Following on from Mr Cargill’s bike-ride, no one explained to me that the principle of bike riding is to go fast to balance when you start off. Hence, it took me 28 years to learn!

    • Thank you, Tony! Yes this is indeed my last year, scary stuff but exciting too! I’m afraid I don’t have any ‘after uni plan’ as of yet, other than learning to drive and getting a job (probably an everyday, low paid one to start with until I can decide what I’m going to do with my life :P)

      Glad you like the quote and that is a great example! It’s so interesting how different rules come about in different cultures, and it just goes to show how complex the world is. One of the areas I’m interested in around psychology is asperger syndrome, and part of the reason I find it fascinating is because people with the condition are very literal, and often don’t understand underlying or unwritten rules and if you think about it, that way of viewing the world in some respects actually makes more sense. It’s quite odd when you think about it.

      Ohhh no! Hahaa. Sack that bike teacher. Well done for persevering, I’m sure a lot of people wouldn’t have bothered to keep trying. 🙂

      • Have you ever read “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time”? It’s written from a boy with Asperger’s POV. Amazing piece of writing.

      • No I haven’t but it’s on my wishlist (along with Incredibly Loud & Incredibly Close). 🙂 I recently read House Rules which was also about Aspergers and I enjoyed that. I’ve also got The Rosie Project sitting on my shelf!

        Ohh man, there are too many books I want to read. Thanks for the rec though, I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it because even though it’s a famous book, there’s no one I know who’s read it. 🙂

  4. Totally. New situations and myself don’t necessarily get along, precisely because of the unknown! I guess that’s where bravery and risk-taking comes in 🙂

Leave a Reply

