Completing Final Year Semester 1 (Like a Boss) + Christmassy Things!

Lets Talk Real Life rounded

Hello blogity friends! As you can probably tell, university has been keeping me very busy of late, which has become evident by my lack of presence on the blogosphere! Imagine my horror when I logged in and realised I hadn’t blogged in over a month, WHOOPSIE! *Edges sideways.* This semester has been one fun, crazy, stressful, and brilliant ride, and I can only hope the second semester will be just as good. It’s been a lot of hard work assignment-wise, especially as each piece is so weighty to the overall grade but ultimately everything has run pretty smoothly. The results I’ve been receiving have far exceeded my expectations, and this week I officially received ethical approval for my dissertation (aka, permission to experiment on people, mwuhuhuhuuuuuu!). Last week was pretty hellish because I had to bunker down into my revision cave and squeeze a lot of study into a short amount of time, and part of that required me to memorize a tonne of citations which included the names and dates of the people who had conducted famous studies.

image

If you noticed the typo well done, yes, I was extremely revisioned out and sleep deprived, don’t just me!

Of course, they all had completely bizarre unpronounceable names like Smitdnzandtger and Smellomitten because they wouldn’t want to make it easy for us would they?! Still eventually, for good or bad, I was shuffled into the exam room like everybody else and forced to find my place at one very uncomfortable, squeaky wooden desk to inflict repetitive strain injury on myself for two hours. Two stressful exams later and I was officially done with semester 1 of my final year of university. Which means, IT’S OFFICIALLY CHRISTMAS IN BECKY WORLD, YAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!

dancing gifDo the Carlton happy dance, you know you want to. 😉

Afterwards I celebrated with post exam Starbucks and attempted one of their seasonal Christmas lattes (which was nice but had an ishy aftertaste). I then had drinks, a Michael Buble Christmas song fest and watched cheesy Christmas movies with friends in the evening which was the perfect way to end the day!

SDC15826edited(I think the spelling is particularly inventive.)

Then to top it off, the next day I met with a friend, did some Christmas shopping (and bought myself a pretty pair of black suede ankle boots because I deserved them dammit), had an awesome meal and went to see the final Hobbit film The Battle Of Five Armies and whoa, what a movie it was! As you guys know I was feeling a little lukewarm towards the Hobbit movies of late but this final installment rounded off the story perfectly! Tonnes of action, emotion, tragedy and moving scenes. It got the balance just right, and while they ultimately changed a lot of things the key heart of the story was where it should have been. Speaking of which, I’m hoping to get reviews up of the final Hobbit film and Mockingjay Part 1 at some point in the distant future, as well as attempting to catch up on all the reviews I’ve been sidelining, fingers crossed! If you fancy something to tide you over, you can always check out my 3-star and 5-star mini reviews from Goodreads as they won’t be appearing on the blog. 🙂 Finally, I’m hoping to go to Oxford Street and Winter Wonderland sometime before I return home in the hopes of picking up even more Christmassy vibes! Yaaaaaaay!

~ * ~

So that’s my past few weeks and Christmassy experiences in a nutshell! I really can’t believe these past few months have gone by so fast. I hope you’re all enjoying the season as much as I am and have managed to take some time out of your busy days to revel in some festive cheer. 😀

Are you getting your Christmas on yet? Have you picked up any good festive themed reads? I’m thinking of going with Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares (although I’m leaving it a little late). 🙂

As ever, thanks for reading guys!

Image Sources: Carlton Dancing gif. Other images my own, please do not reuse.

23 thoughts on “Completing Final Year Semester 1 (Like a Boss) + Christmassy Things!

  1. I love Carlton!!! I am doing his happy dance for you right now at my desk at work. My co-worker, Heidi, is giving me a really strange look, and I think she’s about to call the loonybin :). I’m so happy for you because it sounds like you had an awesome semester and can now sit back for some well deserved relaxation and tons of reading time! I just had a call from Bryan because he just got all his marks back, and he did great! He had one low mark in a course he hated, but it was only an elective (not related to his course at all), and he passed it so that’s all that matters. Otherwise, he got really good marks :). Oh, and Daniel got accepted to another university, so now he has been accepted by his first and second choices, and for psychology just like you. Yahooo!!

    OMG!!!! You saw the final Hobbit film, and you liked it. You really, really liked it! It just started here today, so we are waiting for Bryan to come home from school tomorrow, and we are all going to see it together on either Saturday or Sunday. I can’t wait!

    It sounds like you are getting into a festive mood, and I hope you have a truly fabulous Christmas. You deserve it! My shopping is all done, the gifts are all wrapped (except for stocking stuffers), and my tree is up and decorated. I always feel such relief when it is all done. Now I can relax and enjoy the holidays :).

    • I heart Carlton too!!! Hahaa, love that you have no qualms about doing the Carlton dance at work or what people think, you go girl!
      Yes, I did have a really great semester, I can’t believe it because I was expecting it to be hellish because it’s final year, but it’s actually probably been the best one so far. I’m definitely looking forward to having a decent break from work over Christmas though and it will be nice to catch up with friends from home.
      Yay, so happy for Bryan! It’s great when all your work pays off. I think all of us students have that one annoying grade or module that isn’t as good as the rest, but at least it doesn’t matter much in the grand scheme of things. Congrats to Daniel as well for getting accepted into TWO universities, how awesome, he’ll have the pick of the bunch! 🙂

      Wow, I can’t believe the Hobbit film premiered later for you guys, I had no idea. Making you wait, meanies! But ohh man you’re going to all love it, it’s so good and SUCH a tearjerker. Brilliant end to the trilogy. Can’t wait to see what you think of it.

      Hehee, I sure am! I’m late getting started but I’m going to make the most of it. It’s weird because this year I’m not at home to help put up decorations, but I think when I get back it will be like Christmas has really arrived. 🙂 I just finished the last of my Christmas shopping this week, like you, I’m relieved to have gotten it all sorted!

  2. I finished work (ie the school closed) today at 12:30. Headed to Starbucks with Mrs T and hit a pizza takeaway on the way home. That’s the way we roll in The Shire. 🙂

    Hope you have a great Christmas and a Good New Year! Each assignment brings you closer to graduating!

    Smellomitten? 😉

  3. Today was my last day at work this year, so my Christmas is pretty much ‘on’ now. As usual with my last week in the office, I indulged in what I now call ‘The Feeding’ which is where I sample all the local fast food places for lunch and breakfast.

    Cod and chips has never tasted so good.

    Well done on getting through the semester and stuff. Celebrating with Starbucks, Christmas songs, new shoes, and the cinema is such a typically girly thing to do.

    I’m quite a big fan of the LotR films but I’m not sure if I can bothered with The Hobbit films for some reason.

    • Woop woop, yay for the temporary end of work! Hahaa ‘the feeding’ I love it, how perfectly apt. Sounds like a pretty awesome tradition to me!

      Thanks, Cargill. 🙂

      Hahaa, I understand, The Hobbit pales in comparison to the epic Lord of the Rings trilogy, but the final installment was pretty damn awesome!

  4. Loving the banner (Sadly, no dragons were available) *whines* But I really did want one…

    I’m currently reading My True Love Gave To Me – a Christmassy book with all my favourite authors rolled into one. YES! Also, holidays! *does Carlton happy dance for Becky*

    • Hahaa, thanks Nirvana! I’m weirdly proud of it, I do love my dragons. 😛 Having your own dragon would be AWESOME.

      Ooooh, I’ve seen a lot of people reading that one, I hope you enjoy it! The combination of authors sounds really amazing.

      THANK YOU FOR DOING THE CARLTON HAPPY DANCE. *Grins*.

  5. Yay for Christmas in Becky Land! I always looked forwards to semester breaks when I was still in college. They can be such a breather! And it looks like you’re having such a good time too. 😀 I envy you for seeing the Hobbit – I’ve been too busy and had no time! I’ve made plans to see it this weekend though and I absolutely CANNOT wait.

    For holidays books I’m reading My True Love Gave to Me, which is basically a collection of 12 festive stories written by many authors including Rainbow Rowell. It’s a cute read so far!

    • Yay indeed. 🙂 Yes, they are definitely much needed breaks from essay stress. Gotta enjoy these long breaks while I can because they won’t be here forever!
      Ohh no, I will keep my fingers crossed that you like it when you get to see it. I really hope you do!

      Oooh, I’ve seen quite a few people reading that one but I’ve heard quite mixed things about some of the stories. I hope you enjoy it and I look forward to seeing what you think of it. 🙂 I must admit, the lure of a Rainbow Rowell Christmas story is very tempting to me!

Leave a Reply

