Five Reasons Revealed by P.C. & Kristin Cast is Getting Two Stars (A Sort of Review).

Overall Impression: A book that focuses in painful detail on everything except the actual plot.

Revealed by P.C. and Kristin Cast is the mind numbing Revealed by P.C. and Kristin Castpenultimate book in the House of Night series which follows a group of teenage fledgling vampires in their fight against darkness and a petty evil priestess named Neferet. No matter how positive I try to be about reading each book in this series, the enthusiasm is soon zapped by the sheer ridiculousness and lack of plot. Reading The House of Night series is kind of like suffering though a long distance race with a sprained ankle, every step is painful and jars your entire body, yet you’re still determined to make it to the finish line, exhausted, fed up, and never willing to do it again!
While I could sit here trying to type up a balanced review of Revealed like I normally would, instead, for fear of repeating myself, I’m just going to state plainly five reasons why the 11th book in this series did not work. Oh, and there be GIFS.  😉

Revealed banner

1. No emotional investment.

I’ve been reading this series for about six years now, and instead of growing more fond of the characters I’m caring about them less and less. Revealed attempts to start off with a bang in the very first chapter by killing off two characters yet I felt absolutely nothing. I wasn’t happy or sad, just indifferent… and kinda bored now that I think about it. Seriously, that’s a red flag right there!

I feel nothing

2. Lack of a cohesive plot.

This is a problem with all the later House of Night books and Revealed was no exception. You open the book at point A in the story, and when you finish the book your still at point A in the story, and that point A is the same point A it was five books ago!!!! I was hopeful when I started Revealed because in the first couple of chapters STUFF ACTUALLY HAPPENED and it IS the penultimate book in the series after all. But then the plot regressed into the characters having the same old repetitive filler conversations which eventually led to another pointless faceoff with Neferet. While reading I kept thinking to myself, how is it I’m half way through this book but nothing interesting has happened since the first chapter?

bored gif

3. Mind numbing secondary character exposition.

This was a BIGGIE when it came to Revealed, and it’s the main reason this book didn’t work for me. The Casts’  go-to for dragging out this series and making it longer than it needs to be is to include pointless, unneeded info dumps about secondary characters’ past histories. One third of this book was taken up by telling us the evil priestess Neferet’s back story – which was basically regurgitated information from the novella Neferet’s Curse so no new information there. Another third of the book was spent strongly hinting at Kalona’s past history as an angel warrior for the vampire goddess Nyx, which is a blatant setup for the Casts’  final novella Kalona’s Fall. This means Revealed is essentially two-thirds filler just so the Casts can write more novellas when in fact ALL THE SECONDARY CHARACTER INFO IS UNEEDED, POINTLESS AND BORING AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN SET UP/HINTED AT THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE SERIES, NOT JUST BUNG IN LAST MINUTE. Do I care about these secondary characters? Not that much. Would I instead prefer for the plot to make actual progress instead of going off on annoying tangents? YES.

Why are you here

4. The irritating romantic relationships.

The relationships in this book are so bizarre and dysfunctional. Previously the disturbing half-man half-bird serial murderer romance caused me to blow my top, but in Revealed it was the main protagonist Zoey’s relationship with her boyfriend Stark that did my head in. I remember loving these two as a couple when I was younger but now their relationship is awful, manipulative and unhealthy. Stark has become arrogant, obsessive and jealous (which is to an extent, understandable) and Zoey has become uncaring and prone to cheating. Their cringe-worthy repetitive fights just made me want to yell at them through the book and tell them to shh it.

doh gif

5. The main character returned to being a moody b****.

Zoey Rebird is a permanently frustrating main character. I remember liking her in the first two book and then it steadily declined from there. The problem with Zoey is that everybody in this book either wants to be her, wants to kill her or is completely in love with her. She’s put up on this pedestal of awesomeness because she’s a ‘special’ super powerful fledging vampire for her age and everyone worships at her feet and tells her how intelligent she is yet she’s a hypocritical, judgmental, mean teen who regularly treats her friends and boyfriends like trash, AND THEY STILL CONTINUE TO WORSHIP HER. It’s excruciating.  I was pleased to discover in the last two book that she was being far less annoying, however, her character arc in Revealed is based solely on her being tempted by darkness and becoming a moody cow. Oh yeah, I said it.
Because of this, it meant I had to sit through 300 pages of her whining becoming more and more irritated. Also, didn’t Zoey have this story arc like 4 books back? I have to sit though this shizz AGAIN? THE EXTENT TO WHICH I DO NOT CARE.

ugh gif

~ * ~

Minor saving graces? Aurox the half-bull half-boy person getting drunk was pretty snort worthy, the Casts haven’t yet returned to their adverb obsessed ways and the ending was quite a good cliff hanger…

Yep, that’s about it.

So, one more novel and one more novella to go, yayyyy!!!!!!
Yeah, I’m looking forward to this series finishing.

What do you do when a series you used to like decides to drag out the plot by using pointless filler? Do you stick it out to the end or give up halfway through? Any tips for getting though a series you’ve fallen out of love with? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂

(To read my other reviews for the Hose of Night series click here.)

Writing Style: 2/5
Originality: 2/5
Entertainment: 2/5
Character Development: 2/5
Would I recommend this book? No.

Overall: 2/5

17 thoughts on “Five Reasons Revealed by P.C. & Kristin Cast is Getting Two Stars (A Sort of Review).

  1. I stopped reading this series when I found out it was planned to become a 12 part series. I see not much has changed in terms of plot or reasons why I stopped reading – lack of character development, lack of plot development, and all your other points. I’ll stick with not reading and just look forward to your review of the final book. Sad because this started out as a good series but quickly lost its way and the authors seem oblivious to it. Hopefully the final book will offer some sort of cohesive ending.

    • That was a good plan! I was quite young when I started this series and I used to love the books, but if I had begun them when I was older I’m not sure I would have made it this far because I probably would have spotted the warning signs a LOT earlier. Unfortunately, because I’m well past half way I feel the need to finish the series. Lack of character and plot are definitely some of the main problems.
      Ha, thanks!
      Yes agreed, the series did have a lot of great ideas to begin with but they went wrong somewhere along the way. I’m hoping for a decent ending, but we will have to wait and see. 🙂

  2. Your reviews are always more interesting and amusing when they’re for books you don’t like. I bet you go on and finish the series anyway, right…?

    I’m a big fan of the Xbox Halo games and have read most of the novels that have been written about the backstory, yet the trilogy written by Greg Bear (who is big in the sci fi world) are flippin’ awful. I had to force myself through the first two and simply cannot face starting the third.

    And that ‘why are you here’ gif is hypnotic.

    • Hahaa, I’m glad someone can get at least a little entertainment out of me reading a bad book, it ‘almost’ makes the painful slog worth it….maybe.

      Yepp, afraid so. There’s only two books left out of a total of 12 though so I’m on the home stretch, huzzar!

      I had no idea the Halo games had spin off novels, blimey. That would be like Lara Croft having novels…wait, maybe she does and I don’t know about them either! GASP.
      Sorry to hear the novels were disappointing, trying to get through books you dislike is not alotta fun (as you can tell by my irritated review). 🙂

  3. Love the review – Nick’s face-plant GIF sums up my thoughts on the series and I only read book 1 and have read vicariously through your reviews since then! When you get to describing a book in a review with ‘done my head in’ you are certainly braver than I to keep going… I don’t think I could bear to finish 🙂

    • Thanks Mel! Hahaa, glad you liked the Nick gif, I agree that it sums it up pretty well. 🙂 I think if I had picked up this book when I was older I probably wouldn’t have gotten past the first book either. Ah to be young and naive, LOL.

      Hehee, yep, I’m determined to soldier on until the end, but I won’t ever be doing this with a series again!

  4. That was AWESOME! I had such a fun time reading that, and it just reiterates why I stopped reading those dang books. Thanks for reading and reviewing them for us folks who stopped, so we feel better about having stopped them. Hahahah.
    Happy Holidays!! I hope the final book wraps some stuff up for you. Cause like Cargill said, we figure you are going to read it. 🙂

    • Thank you! So glad you enjoyed reading this. 😀 Yes, I think deciding to stop reading this series was a good decision on your part! Hehee, glad to know these reviews are somewhat helpful anyway.
      I must admit I’m really looking forward to reading that final book. 🙂 Happy Holidays to you too and thanks for reading!

  5. Lolol I’m only here for the GIFs.

    The books sound dreadful *but* I totally get the desire to finish the series off after you’ve invested so much time and effort. It’s just a shame that the authors haven’t taken their readers into consideration and created books that are actually readable 😉

    • Haha, don’t blame you! That’s why I included them, attempting to make my rambling about a bad book semi entertaining/worth reading. :L

      I’d say that was an accurate assumption, LOL. Yes, that is the ONLY reason I’m continuing this series and I’ve promised myself that after the House of Night is done I will never do this to myself again!

Leave a Reply

