Quoting the Quill #44

quoting the quill small

“And the Grinch, with his Grinch-feet ice cold in the snow, stood puzzling and puzzling, how could it be so?
It came without ribbons.
It came without tags.
It came without packages, boxes or bags.
And he puzzled and puzzled ’til his puzzler was sore.
Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before.
What if Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come from a store.
What if Christmas, perhaps, means a little bit more.”

– Dr Seuss (How the Grinch Stole Christmas)

~ * ~

Merry Christmas everyone!
I thought I’d make this week’s Quoting the Quill a festive one. How the Grinch Stole Christmas has always been one of my favourite Christmas movies, I’m not really sure why. This quote is the definite stand out moment in the film when the Grinch realises he can’t ruin Christmas by stealing people’s presents because it’s family and friends being together that matters, AWWWH. THE CHEEESE.
Having said that, I still like it because it’s a good little reminder of what matters and well, I’m also a sucker for things that rhyme.

Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas, I hope you have a great day tomorrow, stuff yourselves with lots of delicious food and get a few bookish presents! 🙂

Merry Christmas

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.
Banner: My own, please do not reuse.

18 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #44

  1. Merry Christmas Book Buddy!!!!!!!!! Only one more sleep until Santa comes. I can’t wait to see if I get some new books (actually, I know I am but shhhh don’t tell anyone). As for the Grinch, that’s our favourite Christmas show too, and it’s a great one if you like drinking games. Many years ago my friends and I used to play the Max drinking game. Every time Max appears on the screen or leaves the screen, you have to take a drink. You’d be amazed how many times that damn dog enters and exits LOL!!! Anyway, enjoy your break from school and have a wonderful Christmas. You deserve it!!

    • Thank you, Cindy!!! One more sleep indeed, I can’t believe it’s Christmas Eve, it’s come round so quickly this year that I feel like I haven’t had time to catch up! I’m definitely looking forward to pigging out tomorrow, LOL.
      Ohh wow, I LOVE the idea of a Grinch drinking game, I can imagine it now. Sounds like a blast! I need to try and rope some of my friends into doing that next year. 🙂

      Thanks Cindy, enjoy your day!

  2. Merry Christmas!! That cheese is quite prevalent in the Christmas movie/poem world. This is the one time of year we can enjoy it without rolling our eyes.
    Can’t wait to see what books you get. I just got a gift certificate from my boss for a bookstore, now I am in the negotiating with myself process…what to get?! Enjoy and Cheers!!

  3. HO HO HO Merry Chri….

    Oh. I’m late aren’t I? *Ahem*

    Fabulous quote choice for Christmas Eve! This year is actually the first time that I haven’t got many presents, purely because there’s absolutely nothing I need. It was fabulous to just be with family, eating loads and having everyone enjoy themselves. ‘Tis what Christmas is all about but Dr Seuss says it much better than me 😉

    • Yes, you’re way too late Charl, God’s sake do I need to buy you a pocket watch? Honestly. 😛

      Haha, thank you. 🙂 I know what you mean, I’ve gotten to the point where the presents aren’t really what I find most exciting about Christmas anymore because there’s nothing I really ‘need’. So when people ask me what I want I just get kind of stumped! It’s just nice to catch up with everybody these days and get updated on all the family gossip.

      Haha, Dr Seuss always says it better, but I guess that’s why he’s famous. 😉

Leave a Reply

