Quoting the Quill #48

quoting the quill small

“Fairy tales are more than true; not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.’

– G.K. Chesterton

~ * ~

I adore this quote! The dragon imagery is probably quite a big factor in that…but the thought behind it is brilliant as well. I find it so interesting when I look back on all of the books I’ve read and what I’ve learnt from them. Sometimes you don’t even realise it’s happening until you look back years later, but there are characters that have taught me courage, characters that have shown me the power of perseverance, and characters who have helped me understand that it’s okay to get knocked down as long as you get back up again. All great life lessons! I like to think I carry a little piece of them with me everywhere I go. 🙂

Are there any particular books that have taught you valuable life lessons?

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

13 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #48

  1. War and Peace taught me that just because something is labelled a classic, that doesn’t mean it’s interesting to read.

    And my travels into the world of non-fiction have taught that just because the subject matter might seem dull – American politics, for instance – that doesn’t mean the book can’t be fascinating to read.

    ’tis a nice quote you’ve chosen this week.

    • Haha! So true that one. Even if something is a classic, it doesn’t mean it’s going to be an interesting one just like not everyone is going to like that number one bestseller. We all have different tastes! Take it the War and Peace progress isn’t going well then?

      I think I should take your advice on the non-fiction front. I’m definitely one of those people who associates non-fiction with being boring, even though I’ve read books that have proved me wrong! I’m a lot better than I used to be though.

      Thanks, Cargill. 🙂

  2. “In spite of everything I still believe that people are really good at heart.” Anne Frank. Shame more people don’t listen to what that girl had to say.

    One of my favourites from fiction, “Time spent in reconnaissance is seldom wasted” by John Marsden. The number of times I’ve been planning an important trip and actually gone and looked at where I’m going first has saved me a LOT of trouble later.

    Great quote as ever!

    • I love that quote too! Especially after everything that happened to Anne Frank, it’s truly a sign of the good side of human nature.

      Hahaa! That is so true as well. I’m definitely a plan first act later kind of person, so I’d agree with that.

      Thanks, Tony. 🙂

  3. You are so right – every time we open a book we are inviting knowledge in :). Sometimes it’s completely new knowledge like some aspect from history I had never heard of before, but other times it’s understanding I gain or the knowledge that I’m not the only one who experiences certain things or feels a certain way. The book that has really stuck in my mind lately is Still Alice by Lisa Genova. It is about a woman with early onset Alzheimers, and it really made me appreciate the life I am living now and gave me a much greater understanding of what people go through with this horrible disease. It actually scared the shit out of me because the woman in the book is the same age as me!!

    • Ahh, I knew you’d understand, Cindy. 🙂 And that is so true, I’ve picked up so many great things about history from reading fiction books, whether they’re classics or contemporary, and I’d say I’ve learnt a heck of a lot about America as well since most of the books I read have American authors! And you’re right, there’s nothing better than that feeling when you read a thought that is exactly like your own, and you’d always assumed you were the only one to have it. 🙂

      Ahh yes, I’ve heard a lot about Still Alice lately, it sounds heartbreaking! Alzheimers is such a cruel thing and I get all jelly legged just thinking about it. To have your memories taken away from you? Horrible. It would scare me too! But I’m so glad it made you appreciate your life more.

  4. That’s what I love about literature: the scope and possibility that it can provide. No matter what the genre, you can always learn something valuable or even understand yourself a little better.

    On a completely unrelated note, I’ve started watching Game of Thrones!

Leave a Reply

