Quoting the Quill #49

quoting the quill small

“I think books are like people, in the sense that they’ll turn up in your life when you most need them.”

– Emma Thompson

~ * ~

I love the idea of this – that somehow, somewhere fate looks down on you and thinks hey, I know exactly what that girl/guy needs, they need this book right here! That will cheer them up/solve their problem! *Rummages through pile of books, beams to specific place on earth.*
It’s such a romantic and temping thought, even though we know books are inanimate objects. I can’t say that this has happened to me very often, but there have been a few occasions where I’ve picked up a book at the exact right moment, and it’s contained some message or insightful thinking that has helped me clear my head.

Has a book ever turned up when you really needed it? Do you think books choose their readers?

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

17 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #49

  1. Oh how I believe this. Books are there for me every day of my life. They calm me down after a stressful day at work (every day lol), they help me to forget when I’m worried about something, and they remind me of how good my life really is when I am feeling down. I can’t imagine life without my books there to make me smile and give me comfort. Great post Book Buddy :).

  2. It wasn’t so much the philosophical message, but the enjoyment of Perfume that I’ve really appreciated recently. I have been really stressed and having a homework assignment. Be not only enjoyable but easy to get through was absolutely wonderful.

  3. I hadn’t really thought about it before but maybe some books have come to me at the right points in my life?! Maybe I’ve subconsciously picked books that contain the things that I really need?

    Also, I am adoring Blaise and her love of Perfume. Get on it!

Leave a Reply

