In Which I Talk Optimism, Shiny Things and Fiery Vengeance

Did somebody say reading tag?

Sherlock reading

Stand back guys, I got this! *Rolls up sleeves.*

Thank you to the lovely Emma over at She Reads Books (*Whispers* Emma’s kind of awesome, you should check out her blog.) for bestowing me with this most prestigious and trusted task of completing The Reader Problems Book Tag. I will guard it with my bookish enthusiasm and gifs! Here we go…

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I base this purely on my mood. It usually comprises of me standing in front of my bookshelves hands on hips pulling my concentration face and considering my options.

The Vampire Diaries gif

I like to mix up my genres a lot, so if I’ve just read a fantasy I might go for a contemporary book next, and if I’ve recently finished a classic I’ll probably find myself grabbing at some engrossing YA. Of course, if I have a review request or there’s a novel about to be adapted into a film those books take top priority!

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

I commit! I am physically incapable of giving up a book half way through. The only exception would be if it had horrendous grammar or was impossible to understand. I’m an optimist in the sense that I always want to give a book the opportunity to get better. Plus, I like to see how things end whether for good or bad. Then there’s also point that when you don’t like a book it can teach you things, whether about writing or plotting or you own reading tastes! However, I am trying to give up reading series I’m half way through if I’m not enjoying them because they take up so much time and effort.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your Goodreads Challenge. Do you quit or commit?

I guess I’m quite rare as a Goodreads member because I have never set up a Goodreads Challenge where you race yourself to try and complete a set amount of books in a year. I don’t like the idea of putting an emphasis on numbers because with books, I think it should always be quality over quantity. I feel this challenge would make me focus on the wrong thing – finishing books for the sake or it rather taking the time to savour and enjoy them. Especially as once I set a goal I am insanely determined to complete it and get tunnel vision. Also, who needs the added pressure?!? So often I see people stressing about their Goodreads Challenges! Although I know a lot of people have fun taking part, for me personally, it’s not worth it!

4. The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?

I SCRUNCH UP INTO A FIERY BALL OF VENGEANCE TO WRECK DESTRUCTION UPON THOSE WHO WOULD DARE MESS WITH THE CONSISTENCY OF MY PRETTY BOOKSHELVES.

Plotting murder

No, but seriously, I hate it. Usually, I avoid it at all costs, but when it does happen it infuriates me to no end and I proceed to scowl at its lack of matchiness each time I look at it.

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

My internet blogging buddies of course! While I do have friends that read in the non-virtual world, they don’t tend to feel as strongly about the things they read and have this tendency to like/love everything, which I’ve always found a bit strange! Subsequently, this makes it quite difficult for me to fangirl or rant about anything in a satisfying way, so I turn to my blog and let it out by writing a review to you guys. Then I hope that someone out there reading my post happens to feel the same way. Usually, it turns out you’re less alone than you think!

6. You’re reading a book and you’re about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

Normally I just scrunch up my eyes, hope for the best and try to think of cute fluffy kittens…and also how that character DID NOT JUST DIE RIGHT IN FRONT OF MY EYES….IN MY HEAD. IN THE MOST TRAGIC WAY POSSIBLE. No, wait, back to the kittens, Becky, BACK TO THE KITTENS.

Cas crying gif

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?

It really depends on how much I liked the first book. If I loved it I’d probably be tempted to do reread, if it fell into the ‘meh’ category I’d either wing it and hope things came back to me or would look up a synopsis online. If I didn’t like the original book, however, I would try to defy the area of my brain that likes to finish things and not pick it up, but sometimes this is easier said than done! Luckily, with my blog as a reference, I don’t tend to forget many of the books I read anymore.

8. You don’t want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people “nope” when they ask?

Well, you see, I have this very small list; it’s exclusive and invitation only. These are the lucky people who get to borrow my books, but not before getting a long speech in which I usually clutch the helpless book to my chest and inform the person that they are not allowed to dog ear, bend or drop food on the pages.
Anyone else has to get through my dragon first, and he eats book stealers for breakfast.

Toothless

9. You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over your slump?

I don’t really have a solution to this one. I don’t suffer with reading slumps much, which I think is due to me switching up the genres of my reads so often (so I recommend that). Sometimes taking a break for a couple of days without reading helps, but mostly I just keep trying until something finally grabs my attention. Quite often if I get into a reading slump, it’s usually related to something bothering me in real life e.g. stress or heavy workload, so I usually find that once that’s resolved my reading sorts itself out!

10. There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

Currently? Not many at all. I’m trying hard to be good about buying books at the moment! My to-read list is so large right now and I feel like I have so many great stories ahead of me that I haven’t had time to read because of university. I’m looking forward to getting to them over summer, and then maybe I’ll treat myself to some new ones *cackles mischievously.*

11. After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?

Well, this one is a little embarrassing because I’m somewhat attracted to shiny new things, okay? So I’ll see a new release, pine over it BADLY and eventually buy it.

Shiny

At this point, I’ll feel like I want to read it IMMEDIATELY and will be determined to do so! But then I’ll be browsing and get distracted by another book I just HAVE to buy because LOOK AT THAT PRETTY COVER.

Abby

During this process I forget all about that other book which looked SO AMAZING two day ago. As a result (and also because I’m a slow reader and have a massive tbr pile) books tend to stay unread on my shelves for quite a long time…sometimes years…
I AM A BAD, MEAN AND FLIGHTY BOOKWORK, OKAY? I PROMISE TO LOVE AND CHERISH A NOVEL BUT AS SOON AS I HAVE IT I DROP IT AND BREAK IT’S HEART FASTER THAN A CASANOVA. *Ahem.*

Thanks again to Emma for tagging me! This was a lot of fun. I tag:

Tony Talbot @ Blog of a Young Adult Writer

Bec @ My Infernal Imagination

Leah @ The Perks of Being a Bookworm

…and anybody else who wishes to do this!

Image Sources:
Sherlock gif // The Vampire Diaries gif // Angel gif // Cas gif // Toothless gif // Shiny Castle gif // Abby NCIS gif  //

22 thoughts on “In Which I Talk Optimism, Shiny Things and Fiery Vengeance

    • Why thank you Mr Cargill! I think that one’s actually a gif from Castle because he looks a lot older into it, but same actor and I loved Firefly (what with it being produced by the same person as Buffy and all).

      Hahaa, I don’t think it’s soly and introvert thing, more of a fangirl thing!

  1. Wow, I’ve been tagged…um. Right. So now what do I do? {engages panic mode}

    Your GIFs were a lot of fun today. I particularly like the dragon that eats book stealers. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Oh look! A book tag! | The Perks of Being a Bookworm

  3. My mind was adding a checkmark after finishing each section because I totally identified with everything you said :). The only way I differ is that I do enjoy setting a goal on Goodreads. Now I don’t really care whether I reach that goal or not. It’s just interesting to see just how many books I do read in a year. Here’s to a summer full of sunshine and books :).

    • So often I feel the same way when you talk about books!
      You see, that’s great that you don’t mind when you don’t reach the goal, and that’s how it should be! Unfortuantely I’ve always been the kind of person that when I set my mind to something I will go at it head on and put all my effort into it, and I know if I didn’t reach the Goodreads goal it would really frustrate me! Instead I just look at my book stats to see how my reading has compared to previous years. 🙂

      Summer can’t come soon enough!

  4. Pingback: Rambles: Book Tag thingy | Musings: The Blog of Tony Talbot, Young Adult Writer

  5. #8 is evidence that I’m not the only person who does that. I’ll have to share this post with my friends and family. I enjoyed reading your answers. Totally hilarious.

  6. Hahaha, I loved this. We’re really alike when it comes to books. xD

    I took stand in front of my bookshelves in quite contemplation and like to mix up genres. I can never quit a book (unless it turns out to be erotic or something). I get so upset when my covers don’t match – for example, all my Brandon Sanderson books have covers by the same artist; white and gray with one splash of colour. I always give those few specific people a lecture before they can borrow my books. My reading slumps are usually work-related aaaaand like you it often takes me yeaaaars to get to a book on my shelves, even if I was really happy with them at time of purchase! As for the Goodreads challenge, I think I’m going to give up on it for this year. I simply do not have the time and I don’t want reading to become a source of stress on top of everything else I have to worry about. 😦

    Also – yay for the Toothless gif! He is the cutest!

    • Yay, I’m so glad!

      Wow, you’re right we ARE similar, almost bookish twins! I LOVE the Brandon Sanderson white covers with the splashes of colour, they are gorgeous and I bet they look awesome on your bookshelves! I only own Elantris but it’s so pretty and goes really well with my Trudi Canavan books which are also white with a small amount of colour. 🙂 Good to come across another person who is guilty of leaving books on their shelves for years, I like to think of it as foraging for winter. We keep stacking up books so that when the time comes we will have plenty to fall back on and keep us company during the hard seasons, hehee. 😉
      Ohh no, sorry to hear the Goodreads challenge has become a pressure for you. It is a great challenge, but can also cause large amounts of unneeded stress if your a perfectionist that likes to reach their goals. I hope giving up on it will help you enjoy reading again!

      Toothless is the best. 🙂

  7. I used to be committed to finishing every book I started, but not anymore. If a book isn’t grabbing me, I move on.
    I’m right with you on book covers not matching in a series. It bugs me.

    • I wish I could have that attitude! It would save so much precious time, although I do feel like I am leaning more towards giving up on things these days since being at university. I think the older you get the less tolerant/willing to stick with things you don’t like you become. At least with me anyway! A year ago I never would have given up on a series half way through but I would now. 🙂

      *Internet high five!*

  8. I do love a good book tag. I like seeing how normal/abnormal I am in comparison to other bookworms.

    I’m pleased to report that we’re basically on the same page *bro fist*

Leave a Reply

