Quoting the Quill #51

quoting the quill small

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”

– Dr. Seuss

~ * ~

Well this week I packed up all of my stuff and moved out of my university accommodation, having to leave the great people I had been living with and had become great friends with behind. I’m not going to lie, it was sad, especially as these people will be living such a big distance away from me that it will be quite hard to keep in touch, but we’re going to try.
All throughout the day I kept thinking of this brilliant quote by Dr Seuss and it made me feel a lot better! Instead of feeling sad that it was coming to an end, I tried to think of it as a celebration, a celebration of the fact that I had been lucky enough to meet such nice people that I felt reluctant to leave them behind. 🙂 Go Dr Seuss for always looking on the bright side!

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

16 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #51

  1. Dr Seuss is always good for putting hard to say feelings and ideas into simple words 🙂 It is sad when you leave behind a part of your life, especially when you grow close to people. As a bookish person, you may also like:

    “It’s not the end of the book, just the beginning of a new chapter.”

    • He definitely is!

      I agree, change is always sad. It’s that weird feeling of standing in a place and knowing you’re never going to be back there again, feeling the same feelings, seeing the same people. It makes you want to cling on!

      I love that quote, thanks, Mel. 🙂

  2. You will never forget those friendships forged while riding the emotional roller coaster of university. You may not be able to keep in contact as much as you would like, but you will never forget the parts they played in that period of your life :). I’m so excited to see what you do next! Don’t worry though – no pressure LOL.

    • I definitely won’t! A roller coaster ride is a perfect way to describe university, there are so many ups and downs. I’m so glad I was able to meet some great people, and I’m sure I will probably look back years from now and cherish all the memories. 🙂

      Haha, thank you! So am I!

  3. I found finishing university such a difficult transition. However, if you want to keep in touch, you will do it. And if things drift apart, well, other people always turn up! I think you have the right way of looking at it. Dr. Seuss was a smart man! I love the A. A. Milne quote that has a similar sentiment: ‘How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard.’

    • I have a feeling it will be for me too. After being in education your entire life I imagine it feels strange to enter the entirely different world of work! That’s so true about being able to keep in touch if you want to, I found that with going from secondary school to university, people soon start dropping off your contact list that you can’t be bothered with.

      I love A. A. Milne, he has some great quotes and I love that one, thanks Lauren. 🙂

  4. Hey, Becky –

    From my admittedly-tinted view through the internet, I think you’ll be just fine. I’ve followed your blog (then FB, then Pinterest) for most of your university time and I’ve decided a couple things about you:

    1) You’re quite clever. You are an excellent writer, you seem to have your priorities in order, and you have an eye for the details others miss.

    2) You’re beloved. Which is probably a little embarrassing for an introvert, but you have a natural charisma the pulls people to you (see also: randos who comment on your blog). While your natural inclination is to shun that limelight, if you embrace it you will be powerful.

    I had no plans after school. I fell into the book industry quite by accident, and fell out equally by accident a decade later. You know what I did have? A brother who smoked. What I noticed is that no matter how down he or other smokers got, they always had a cigarette. And if they didn’t, they would just ask until they got one with full faith that some karmic force would take care of it. And it did. Every time. I don’t smoke, but I adopted that same philosophy to jobs and haven’t been unemployed in the 23 years since.

    So I think you’ll be fine. I really do. You’re experiencing the natural anxiety of every graduate, soon to be followed by the thrill of life. And it may be scary at times, but you’ll always have everything you need (perhaps not everything you want, but everything you need). I promise.

    And if you’re ever in Washington, DC, hit me up for coffee. We have quite the library for you to explore.

    Best,
    -Rich

    • Hey Rich!

      Ahaha, some people do have a tendency to only show their best sides on the internet so ‘tinted’ is the perfect way of putting it. Thanks for your confidence in my ability! I wish I could feel the same way.

      Thank you so much for the kind words. I really don’t know what to say, I’m so touched. *Blushes.* Those are some awesome words right there, heck, I do sound pretty good don’t I? 😛 Hehee. I’m so happy that you like my writing and think I have an eye for detail with a bit of charisma thrown. I’m always one of those people that bats away compliments with excuses so I will stop my typing right there!

      I, personally, think that it’s amazing that you could fall into the book world by accident, from people I’ve talked to it sounds like publishing and anything book related is tough to get into these days! Sounds like a dream job to me. 🙂 That’s a great philosophy!

      Yes, I think it’s important to remember that fear at this point is totally natural, it’s a transition time that is bound to cause anxiety for 99% of people. Hopefully, it will evaporate soon enough. 🙂

      I bet Washington is awesome, and I love me a good library!

      Thanks again, Rich! (For the kind words and following my blog rambles for so long).

  5. For a natural pessimist such as moi, it’s taken me such a long time to come around to Dr Seuss’ way of thinking! It’s very true though. You meet people and forge relationships that last a lifetime, or you become friends for a small snapshot in time but both experiences are worthwhile. We can still learn something from both.

    If the effort and desire is there, you can make anything work 😉

    • Me too, Charl, me too. It all depends on the way you look at things, right? Dr Seuss has this way of flipping things so that even negatives can be good. It’s impressive. 🙂
      I do think that when I look back on past relationships, I really did learn different things from each one of them!

Leave a Reply

