Tag: My Life in Books

Umbreen from Read by Umbreen has been kind enough to tag me for the My Life in Books tag! I’m quite picky about which tags I do these days because there are a lot floating around, but this one seemed like great fun so I decided to give it a go. So, onwards dear readers!

Find a book for each of your initials.

beautiful creaturesAm I Normal Yet by Holly BourneDash and Lily's Book of Dares

This was actually a lot easier than I thought it would be! I guess I’m lucky to have initials that are on quite a few book titles. I picked Beautiful Creatures because despite the novel having many flaws and somewhat frustrating characters, it’s one of the most atmospherically gothic tales I’ve ever read and it also has epic library descriptions! I still have yet to finish this series, I really need to get back to it! Am I Normal Yet is a novel I read this year about a teen with an anxiety disorder who is going to weekly therapy sessions and trying to slowly come off medication. It’s one of the most accurate books about mental health I’ve ever read, and I hope to review it soon. 🙂 Finally, I picked Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares because it’s a Christmassy book about two teens running around New York City writing in a red notebook!

Count your age along your bookshelf – which book is it?

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norell by Susanna Clarke

I haven’t read this one yet, but I’m really looking forward to it! I first heard about this book when Maggie reviewed it and it sounded exactly like my sort of thing. I’ve also recorded the TV mini series, but I haven’t watched it yet because I want to read the book first.  All I can really remember about the plot is that it’s a fantasy, which is good because it’s much more fun to go in blind!

Pick a book set in your city/state/country.

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

The Bone Season is an adult dystopian fantasy novel set in, around and underneath a future London, and it’s freakin’ awesome! While I don’t live in London now, I went to university there for the past 3 years and regularly go back up there to meet friends, so this seemed like a good choice!

Pick a book that represents a destination you would like to travel to.

It would be cheating to put Harry Potter here, right? Yeah, I thought so. In that case…

New Moon by Stephenie Meyer

I struggled with this one a little bit. There are lots of places I would like to travel to, but I didn’t seem to have many books on my shelves that included them. Luckily I had a little brain wave with New Moon from the Twilight series. In the final showdown, the characters find themselves jetting off to Italy, which is somewhere I have always wanted to go because it looks like a beautiful country. Not to mention the food. Need I say more?!

Pick a book that’s your favourite colour.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

My favourite colour is blue. I love all the different hues that you can get, however, for the last year or so I have been obsessed with pastel blue and mint green, and the cover of Fangirl uses the exact right shade of mint. 🙂

Which book do you have the fondest memories of?

Book of Shadows by Cate Tiernan

Book of Shadows and the rest of the Wicca series always remind me of some of the great times I had in secondary school. I was obsessed with these books, and soon all my friends were reading them too. I had one friend in particular who was reading them at the exact same time as me, and we used to take trips to the library together and fight over who would get to take out the next book in the series first! We always had fun at break times having discussions about these books, and I even remember telling my boyfriend at the time to go away at lunch because I was busy reading them and was at a crucial point in the story, LOL!

Which book did you have the most difficult reading?

The Great Gatsby cover

For such a short book The Great Gatsby was one heck of a difficult read for me. There was something about Fitzgerald’s writing that kept making me zone out. The sentences individually were so beautiful, but when they were all strung together in a book, phew, it was seriously hard work. The themes and imagery in this novel are incredible, but this author and I did not click. It’s one of those rare cases where I have to admit to preferring the movie.

Which book in your TBR pile will give you the biggest sense of accomplishment when you finish it?

The Complete Sherlock Holmes

I think I’ll be feeling pretty epic when I finish my beautiful leatherbound copy of The Complete Sherlock Holmes. Honestly, a heavyweight boxer could use this thing as part of their training, it is heaaavvvvvyyy! I haven’t read a single one of the stories in it yet and it has all the novels and short stories included. My favourite pastime is to stare at it obsessively and stroke it. It’s predddyyyy. 😀

So that’s it! I hope you enjoyed my life in books. 

I nominate:

Zezee with Books

ReinReads

The Wild Readers

Girl in the Pages

The Perks of Being a Bookworm

(Sorry in advance if I’ve tagged you and you’ve already done it!)

31 thoughts on “Tag: My Life in Books

  1. You haven’t started with Holmes yet? Here’s a tip: DON’T start with “A Study in Scarlet” (the first). It’s odd in that it doesn’t feature Holmes for a fair portion of the book. There’s a whole section that’s a flashback and it’s a little hard to settle into. I’d go for “The Hound of The Baskervilles”, the best story by far.

    Happy Christmas, by the way! I’m off to Christmas at Potter World next week, birthday present for Mrs T. I’ll send you an owl with a butterbeer chaser. 🙂

    • Nope! I have been neglecting old Holmes, for some reason the moment hasn’t been right for me to pick him up. Hmm, that’s interesting. I don’t have many expectations of whether I will enjoy the Sherlock stories or not, but it’s good to know in advance that the first novel isn’t the best. I don’t know if I could skip it though, I’m one of those people that likes to read things in the right order, even if the stories don’t connect! I’ll have to think on that one. 🙂

      Happy Christmas to you too, Tony! That sounds like one epic present, I’m jealous. I hope you have an amazing time. Make sure you tell me all about it!

  2. I’m so glad you were able to do the tag! I have to admit that I’m not familiar with a lot of the books you chose, but I still enjoyed reading your responses! I’m right there with you on Gatsby. When I read it a few years ago, I just didn’t understand all the hype. Then I watched the 2013 movie adaptation of it this past summer, and the message suddenly clicked. However, I think part of that has to do with the fact that in the time between reading the book and watching the movie I had experiences that made the message more relatable to me personally, so I might consider giving the book another shot sometime.

    • Thanks, Umbreen! I’m glad you enjoyed reading. That’s alright, I have pretty wide tastes, and I picked some oldies too.
      I’m so relieved to hear that you had mixed thoughts on Gatsby as well, I remember feeling SO guilty when I read it and I didn’t like it because so many people raved about it being one of the best classics out there. I loved the way the movie was done, especially with the music, and Leonardo was perfect to play Gatsby. Ahh, that is interesting, I would have to agree with you there as welll! When you experience nostalgia for something in the past that could or should have been, it definitely makes you relate to Gatsby’s dilemma more. I think for that reason, it’s also a novel you appreciate more with age.
      I would be curious to reread it as well. 🙂

  3. Thanks for the tag!
    I gotta agree with you on the mint color. I fell in love with it and coral last spring. I prefer mint on my flats, clutches, and earrings though and coral for my tops and shorts. Anyways, off topic for a book post. Lol.
    A couple of my friends found Great Gatsby hard to get into. I enjoyed it though. Love the writing and how it ends and how it’s narrated.
    Lol on your school days with Book of Shadows and telling your boyfriend to go away. I guess it’s books over boys, lol.

  4. Pingback: #MyLifeInBooks | My Infernal Imagination

  5. Ah, I can’t wait to see what you think of JS&MN- it’s so, so good, and if you like it, the short story collection she has set in the same universe is also beautiful. No pressure to get to it or anything- but I cannot wait until you do, haha.

    • I can’t wait to see what I think of it either. 🙂 I keep looking at it on my shelf and wanting to read it, but I’m really trying to focus on finishing up some big fantasy series I’ve had going for a while first – Game of Thrones for one! I’ll definitely keep a look out for that short story collection.
      Got any other awesome book recommendations for me?

      • Hm… I’ve been trying to work through my kindle backlog, which has resulted in a ton of really mediocre-to-bad books that aren’t really worth the mention. But one book I did read this year that I adored was Blackdog, by K.V. Johansen. It’s a standalone fantasy with a fascinating world and story, and since there are other books set in that world, I’m really looking forward to them. They also have immensely cool covers, if that kind of thing is a bonus, haha.

      • Ahh, I bet that’s a proper mission, the Kindle books can stack up very easily! Sorry to hear you haven’t come across anything particularly great. I’ve been having the same problem, unfortunately, with the exception of Libba Bray’s Diviners and a couple of other books, I’ve had a bit of a slump this year!
        Immensely cool covers are a DEFINITE bonus. I feel ya. I’ll look that one up pronto and see what it’s about! I trust your recs when it comes to fantasy. 🙂

  6. I haven’t gotten around to reading Beautiful Creatures yet, but your “atmospherically gothic” description has sold me on it. I did catch the film a couple of years ago but didn’t like it very much. Fangirl is another book I’ve been meaning to get to. So many books I want to read, so little time, but I guess we just have to make time, don’t we!
    Happy Christmas, Becky.

    • I think you would definitely love the Beautiful Creatures series, Emma, mostly for the setting and magical elements. It’s not the best story in the world or the best written, but it’s definitely got a unique charm that makes me hold fond memories of it. 🙂 The film is quite different to the book – pretty much none of the book fans liked it – including me!

      Thank you, Emma. Merry Christmas to you as well. 🙂

    • I’m so glad that so many people seem to agree with me on this, when I read it I really felt like the odd one out! It’s definitely a weird feeling when you can recognise something is great even when you don’t enjoy it.

      Haha, ditto! Thanks for reading. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Tag: My Life in Books | The Wild Readers

Leave a Reply

