Quoting the Quill #57

Quoting the Quill

“What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it. That doesn’t happen much, though.”

– J.D. Salinger

I’m currently reading The Catcher in the Rye, and when I came across this quote it instantly struck me as true, even though it was a thought that had never occurred to me before. How awesome would it be if when you finished a truly earth-shattering book, you could phone up the author and fangirl with them over their OWN book? They could answer all your questions about character motivations, possible sequels and their world building process. I get all giddy just thinking about it. 😀

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

22 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #57

  1. It’s even more fun (and very surreal) when someone quotes your book back to you.. 🙂

    But wouldn’t it be very cool to know a famous author like Salinger or King?

    I can understand the fascination with it…why pick *that* phrase over another? What makes a writer choose one path for something and not another? Most of us just make the stories up as we go; we wing it, and when we wing it well, the characters take over and go flying on their own.

    We’re terribly ordinary for the ones who wash our socks. 🙂

    • Hahaa, yeah I bet! I wonder who could have done that? 😉

      Yes, it would. I’d especially love to pick the brains of Emily Bronte. I would love to know how certain characters came about, why she picked certain themes and how some of them paralleled her own life – as well as what made her write a book like that in her time that was quite out there and different! I image ‘winging it’ and ‘instinct’ would be the answers a lot of the time. 🙂

  2. I love taking a book apart with friends who have also read it so can’t imagine how much fun it would be to do it with the author themselves. Thanks for sharing the quote. The Cather in the Rye has on my TBR list forever, eventually it’ll reach the top!

  3. Oh my god that would be so amazing. I miss having someone I can talk excitedly to about books. My friends these days are too busy to even read the ingredients on their cereal box, let alone an entire book! 😦

    • I know, right? 😀 I could daydream about it for hours thinking of all the different authors.
      Awh, man, that sucks! Well, you can always talk to me, but I know it’s not the same over the internet! 😛 Haha, that made me chuckle big time! I hope your friends find the reading bug again.

  4. Oh gosh, that’s a fantastic quote! I really want to read The Catcher in the Rye since i never had to read it for school and there seems to be such diverse opinions on the classic. Thanks for sharing this relatable quote. 🙂

  5. Wow, I can’t remember the lst time I read Catcher In The Rye. Probably when I was still in school. A quick look at my shelves reveals a dog-eared annotated copy which has now been added to my to-read pile 🙂

Leave a Reply

