Quoting the Quill #57

Quoting the Quill

“It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all – in which case, you fail by default.”

– J.K. Rowling

~ * ~

So I failed at something this week, and failure kinda sucks. I took my practical driving test and although I had a very good drive without many minors, I didn’t pass, for something unbelievably simple and annoying that 99% of drivers never do in real life. And honestly, I’m not sure if that makes it more or less annoying than if I had done something really serious. I guess it doesn’t really matter. Either way, you have to jump through the hoops they want and hope it makes you a better driver.
Of course, after this happened I was pretty gutted, annoyed, frustrated (especially as it was £100 down the drain with the knowledge I would have to spend at least another £100), but I consoled myself with the quote above. J.K. Rowling is always right as we all know. 😉 And it’s also in line with another saying, ‘nothing ventured, nothing gained’. At the end of the day, we all fail sometimes, but its how we deal with that failure that defines us, and in my case, I booked another driving test the next day, for a couple of weeks time. 🙂 Wish me luck!


Do you agree with J.K. Rowling? How do you deal with failure?

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

25 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #57

  1. I will admit, I failed my first driving test too, and also for a silly mistake. I was beating myself up about it so much, but, like you, I booked another one soon afterwards, and it wasn’t long before I got over this initial failure.
    Good luck with the next test!

    • Well, that makes me feel a little bit better. 🙂 My instructor did say that whatever you’re expecting to go wrong won’t, it will be something you normally never do wrong – and he was right! I must admit I did do a bit of beating up myself. 😉
      Thank you very much!

  2. I sulk and smash things up, before convincing myself that it was everyone else that’s wrong.

    I reckon you should do the same thing… in the middle of the M25. I can guarantee you’ll go viral.

  3. I failed my first driving test by going through a light that went red when I was three feet away from it. I explained that I thought it was safer to drive on than risk emergency stopping and having the people behind me hit me. Examiner didn’t see it that way. 🙂

    I did pass the second time though…as all of us do, we fail the first time so we can better for the next time around. Good luck!

    • Ack, WHAT. That seems really harsh! Especially as they do say that if a light turns red and stopping in time may cause harm to other drivers you should continue. I guess the instructor must have thought you had the time and space. I hate that so much of these rules are up to interpretation, it’s mean. :/
      To be fair, I don’t know anyone who passed first time although they are out there, so I think that makes us distinctly average. 🙂
      Thank you!

  4. I like saying… I didn’t do it wrong, I just found 142 ways that didn’t work first…. (Or something along those lines!) Not wanting to sound like a cheesy life coach, but I generally don’t look at things as failures, more like a practice run. It definitely happens with writing a book, certainly happens when you’re learning something new…. Anyone who rocks up and does something perfectly the first time is probably a fibber (or lucky git).

    Good luck with test no. 2… Don’t get psyched out by your practice run 😉 you’ll nail it now you know what to expect x

    • Oooh, yes, I love that one too! It puts the most positive spin on failing that I’ve ever come across. 🙂 I like your idea of looking at things like a practice run. I’m definitely prone to worrying about failure a lot, so that definitely a phrase I should keep in mind, LOL.

      Ohh yes, I’ve met those people. I used to get so frustrated with people at university who put in minimum effort and got such amazing marks.

      Thank you muchly. 🙂 I hope you’re right!

      • I just checked – the quote is most often attributed to Benjamin Franklin or Thomas Eddison, neither of whom I think did too badly for themselves 🙂 I do a lot of team management in my ‘day job’ and the most successful people I see treat things like this x

  5. I failed my test 7 times, each one on something really minor and stupid. One time I failed because someone else undertook me on a round about and apparently, me not driving into them was a big no no. Anyway, you’ll get there eventually, I bet it won’t even take you seven times to do it!

  6. Oh hell girl, tons of people fail their test the first time. Both of my boys have failed driving tests, and it’s even worse here because we have different levels. First you have to take a written test which gives you your G1. Then you have to take your first road test which gives you your G2. Finally, you have to take the second road test which gives you your full licence. All of this takes a few years. Chin up, you’ll get it next time :).

      • I know they do, in fact, I don’t know anyone who’s managed to pass the first time around! There are just so many variables, and I went into it knowing it was highly unlikely I would pass, but there’s still that little feeling of disappointment and self-frustration! ‘Why didn’t I just do this… etc’. I definitely won’t let it deter me, though. 🙂

        OMG, 3 stages? Here we have a theory test on the highway code and then a practical driving test. What’s the difference between the second and third road test? I’m genuinely curious, I’ve never heard of this before!

        Phahahaha, CLASSIC. Hehe, tell Mike that put a big smile on my face. It’s always good to have your priorities straight. Who needs to drive when you can convince people to give you ride for free. 😉

      • There is a written test and then 2 road tests. The first road test is just city/town driving. The second road test includes highway driving. There are restrictions after each level. After the written test (G1) you can drive but only with a licenced driver accompanying you. After passing the G2 road test, you can drive by yourself but not on the really big highways and not after a certain time at night, and I think there is also something about how many passengers you can have. Finally, passing the G road test means that you can drive by yourself anywhere and anytime. It’s a long process which is frustrating in rural areas like where we live because kids need to drive to most jobs they can get. However, in some ways it does make sense.

        Mikey is glad he made you smile, and to your last sentence he says “Exactly!”.

      • Hmm, that’s really interesting. I suppose that actually makes a lot of sense, especially in a place like Canada where there are quite a big variety of roads – some of yours are a lot bigger than ours, or at least, they seem like it! It does make it rather long-winded though.

        By the way, did you see book 3 of The Mime Order has been pushed back to a March 2017 release date? Agjhdfjkgdmnjfm. I may just cry. Waa. O_o

      • Bryan has his full G licence, but Daniel still has to do his final road test. Hopefully, he will do it this summer when he is home from school. I can’t believe he’s almost done his first year in Psych! Where does the time go?

        Yes, I saw the news about book 3 :(. It’s disappointing, but I am 100% sure it will be worth the wait.

      • I will keep my fingers crossed for him! Wow, I can’t believe that either, it seems like only a few months ago you were telling me he was thinking of doing it. Whoa.

        Yes, I agree. It’s sad news, but I would much rather it come out later and be perfected. 🙂

  7. Aww. Sorry to hear that you failed! Though if it’s any comfort, the majority of people fail their first driving tests. In fact I read an article the other day where the guy failed over 20 times, haha. Good luck with your second test!

    That said I totally agree with JKR. You always learn from your mistakes, no matter how small! they are, and you become better over time. It’s all trial and error!

  8. Rowling is such a wise owl. Failure is a certainty (and necessity) of life!

    I failed my theory test the first time I took it (I KNOW). Passed my driving test first time but I got quite a lot of minors for really stupid stuff but, y’know, it’s to be expected when there’s a stranger STARING AT YOUR EVERY MOVE AND SCRIBBLING STUFF ONTO A CLIPBOARD. My examiner was far from chatty which made me feel even worse and I’m certain that I’ve never sweated so much in my entire life.

    The only way is up!

    • She sure is!

      Now C, be honest. Did you study?? 😉 I’m sure the reason most people fail their theory is because they don’t study for it. Most of it is common sense after all, but then there are always those silly questions you NEVER need for driving that can catch you out, and if you get a lot of them it’s easy to fail the theory because there’s so little leeway. Bravo on completing the practical test first time, that’s so awesome!!!! *High five.*

      YES, THE CLIPBOARD AND SCRIBBLING IS TERRIFYING.

      My instructor didn’t talk to me at all either. I guess some don’t want to distract you but silence can put you on edge. Eep.

Leave a Reply

