Quoting the Quill #58

Quoting the Quill

“Old books exert a strange fascination for me – their smell, their feel, their history; wondering who might have owned them, how they lived, what they felt.”

– Lauren Willig

~ * ~

I like how this quote sums up so well what I love about old or second hand books. I like to romanticize the idea that books have two stories, one the words on the paper, and second the story of all the people who have picked the novel up and formed thoughts about it. How did they feel about the book? Why did they pick it up? What was going on in their life at the time? 🙂

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

10 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #58

  1. I love old books because they are so used an most likely loved and cherished by the previous owners. I also prefer the old covers as opposed to the new modern ones. Thanks for this post.
    Marilyn

  2. I also love old, second-hand books. I love when you walk into the second-hand bookstore and the smell hits you as soon as you walk in. Love this post! ❤

  3. Hmmm. I’m a bit torn about this. While I do love the look and feel of old books, I doubt I’d be happy reading them, because I would much rather have a fresh copy for myself, with no writings in the margins, no folded edges, no cracks in the spine… haha. Does that make sense?

    • That’s an interesting point and makes total sense! I am quite obsessive about getting pristine copies of books myself, however, I also really love old books, especially if they’re classics – I guess because they’re old stories written a while ago, it seems more appropriate for them to be a pretty, old musty book. 🙂 If a newly released book has a broken spine I’ll totally freak out, but if it’s an old one I think it adds to the character. Odd, right?!

  4. YES. ALL THE TIME.

    Especially if you buy an old book and it’s got a previous owner’s name penciled in. In fact, I bought a 1960 orange Penguin copy of Catcher in the Rye and there was actually a letter tucked inside dated 1977 of somebody who borrowed the book and was returning it to the owner. They’d written ‘I couldn’t decide whether I enjoyed it or not’…… 🙂

    • OMG. I think I would squeal and get so excited if I found an old letter like that in a book. And how funny that they couldn’t decide if they liked the book. xD I’ve yet to find any handwritten letters but I did find an blank postcard once from half way around the world. Pretty cool. 🙂

Leave a Reply

