Quoting the Quill #52

quoting the quill small

“When I have a little money, I buy books; and if I have any left, I buy food and clothes.”

– Erasmus

~ * ~

This quote pretty much sums up my buying habits, and I have a feeling many of you will relate with it too!
There’s nothing like that feeling of going out, picking out a book and admiring its crisp pages and beautiful cover. And I have to admit, when I’m out shopping for clothing and look at a top wondering whether it’s worth the amount of money on its tag, I tend to think of the number of books I could buy with that money instead. 😉

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

19 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #52

  1. And yet when homeless people say the same thing when it comes to justifying their purchases of cheap booze and fags, everyone is up in arms about it.

    It’s one rule for the drug-addled, mentally ill unfortunates sleeping under bridges and another rule for the rest of us.

    • Hey Michael, you should read The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling, it’s all about that kind of stuff, especially how hypocritical the world is – it pitches posh people from an idyllic UK country village against a council estate. You’d have fun with that one.

      The world is a mysterious place!

  2. This post and the comments made me smile and giggle because we booklovers are all the same aren’t we? I’m so bad I don’t even wait until I have the money. If it’s a book I really want, nothing will stop me!! LOL

  3. I have no decent clothes and more books than I could ever possibly read. Take a wild guess what my money goes on. To be fair, I get more joy out of books than I do out of a t-shirt or dress that won’t last very long 😉

Leave a comment