Quoting the Quill #5

quoting-the-quill-small.jpg

‘I haven’t failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.’

– Thomas Edison

Way to look on the bright side Edison! This quote seems particularly apt for me right now considering I have spent the last four days slaving over a Psychology assignment and have gotten absolutely nowhere. It is slowly reducing me to a muddy puddle on the floor and BECKY IS CRANKY. After all the effort I have put in I have nothing to show for it, and that’s what makes me most angry because it feels like a waste of time.
I think it’s time I take a deep breath and take a page out of Edison’s book, I may have found 10,000 journal articles that won’t work but hopefully that means I am slowly getting closer to a few that will, and I’ll have to find something eventually, right?

~  *Note: If you do not hear from me for over two months it is likely I have died under a pile of Psychology text books. Recommended Action: Send a search party.*

I suppose it is a matter of perspective and Thomas Edison seems to shine a light of optimism. One thing’s for sure, giving up is not an option. Becky doesn’t give up.

*   *   *

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back.

18 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #5

  1. See, my natural instinct is to offer words of support and sympathy but that would mean you feeling better about things… meaning Becky is no longer cranky.

    And you know how much I like Cranky Becky’s cranky reviews.

    Quote is a good one though. Keep it up!

    • Ha ha ha. Ahh but there is a flaw in your plan, until I complete the work I won’t have time to read much – therefore no reviews will be posted. Catch 22. :L

      I’m glad you like my cranky reviews though!

      Thanks Michael, I will. 🙂

    • You know I am taking your advice today. 🙂 I’m going to hang out with a friend today and try and not think about it at all until tomorrow! Hopefully I will be the better for it.

  2. Have a break. Have a Kit-Kat! Seriously, take a time out from it for a while. Go for a walk and get some fresh air, it always works for me. Releases endorphins and will make you feel better as well. Good luck.

    • Haha, I wish! Unfortunately for psychology they’re big on journals which are found online, I’m only allowed to use a few textbooks from a real physical library *sigh* I hate all this online stuff.

      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

Leave a comment