DAY 30: A Book You Couldn’t Put Down.

30 Day Book Challenge Banner

Holy moley, day thirty! I MADE IT. I thought it would never come, it seemed so far away. But before I get too celebratory, lets get this post on the proverbial road. ๐Ÿ™‚

There were so many books I could have chosen for this day of the challenge, so I tried to think of which I would like to spotlight that others may not have heard of or could have forgotten about. I also wanted to pick something that I had never mentioned on my blog before. With this train of thought, I decided uponย the Numbers trilogy by Rachel Ward.

I picked up the first book Numbers at a school book fair that almost nobody went to. At thirteen I was really psyched about it, but most people didnโ€™t share my enthusiasm and my secondary school never bothered to participate in the event again; I guess they didnโ€™t get enough people. The unusual cover originally drew me to it, I loved the way the picture was made up of typography (not that I knew the word typography back then). I turned it over to read the blurb and was fascinated. It seemed like such a unique story idea because I had never come across one like it before! Hereโ€™s the blurb:

Since the day her mother died, Jem has known about the numbers. When she looks in someoneโ€™s eyes, she can see the date they will die.
Life is hard, until she meets a boy called Spider.
(Ohh geez, another weird name.) Suddenly her world seems brighter.
But on a trip to London, Jem foresees a chain of events that will shatter their lives foreverโ€ฆ

The second book Numbers: The Chaos follows Jemโ€™s son, Adam, who also inherits the affinity for death dates. In the second book he slowly becomes aware that half the worlds date is set to 2027, which means disaster is about to strike. The third book Numbers Infinity is a mystery because I havenโ€™t read it yet, but I canโ€™t wait to get round to it because I love this author and her characters!

IMG_6792edited

One of the things that struck me about this series in retrospect was that it had such a different setup to other books of a similar nature, it doesnโ€™t follow the same formula. Instead of a girl with powers coming out of nowhere to cause a shift in the entire world as the protagonists know it, Numbers works on a much smaller scale which I think is more realistic. Jem is just one normal teenager and although she has an amazing gift, she doesnโ€™t have the opportunity or the means to revolutionize the world with it. To her, it is a massive burden she wishes she could be rid of, she doesnโ€™t want to embrace it and I found that fascinating. To Jem, the knowledge of the numbers is a curse because although she can see peopleโ€™s death dates, she seems to be powerless to change them. It is only as the years go on and as the generations of her family continue that they are able to learn more about the numbers and how they work, and I thought this was really realistic.
On top of this, I found the books surprisingly dark considering they were aimed at children. It looks into the correlation between ethnicity and crime and the question of whether policemen are more likely to stop minorities or be suspicious of them. The books also tackle growing up in a rough neighborhood, broken homes, teen pregnancies, death and issues society faces as a whole. I canโ€™t speak about how realistic it is because luckily it is something I have never had to experience, but I thought Ward tackled it well. I think itโ€™s important to have books set in more down trodden areas so that teens who are well off are reminded that they exist.

I have enjoyed getting to know every character in this series so far, Jem, Spider, Adam, Sarah and little Mia. I will be sad when I finally finish the series, even though I read the first two books a few years back I still have a warm fuzzy affection for them. There were so many plot twists, drama filled scenes and a few tear jerkers along the way, and I especially loved how the second book added in some further futuristic elements due to it being set in 2027. I canโ€™t wait to see what will happen in the last novel and I am determined to get to it this year! I would highly recommend this series. ๐Ÿ˜€

IMG_6786edited

Fancy telling me about some of the books you couldnโ€™t put down? Have you ever read the Numbers trilogy? ๐Ÿ™‚

Whatโ€™s the 30 Day Book Challenge you ask? Click here and find out.

Image Sources:
All my own, please do not reuse.

37 thoughts on “DAY 30: A Book You Couldn’t Put Down.

  1. I’m going to miss your 30 book challenge! I’ve had a couple books I couldn’t put down. Recently “The Starlight Crystal” by Christopher Pike was one I read in almost one sitting along with “The Fault in Our Stars” by John Green.

    • Awh, thanks so much Rebecca, I’m so glad you’ve been enjoying the posts! I’ve never heard of the Pike one but reading a book in one session shows a great deal, I will watch out for it. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve got TFIOS to read and I’m excited to see what all the hype is about!

  2. Yayyyy, you did it!!! You are my hero :). That was long challenge, and you were so incredibly thorough with each of your posts. I don’t think I could have kept it up. As for the Numbers series, I don’t think I’ve ever heard of it, but it sounds great.

    • I did, I can’t believe it! It did seem incredibly long, at points I thought it would never end. :S Awwh thank you, I did try to be but I must admit the posts got shorter towards the end teehee. Around the day 15-20 mark I thought I was going to give up, so I’m glad I was able to stick with it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I thought the Numbers books were great, they’re pretty short too so they don’t take much time to read if you feel like adding them to your never-ending TBR pile, LOL.

    • Thank you, Kayla! I’m so happy I made it all the way through without skipping any days!
      So glad you plan to read Numbers, I think the books are super underrated and deserve more readers. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’d like to see an epilogue (if you could manage it!) of books you’ve picked up from people’s comments this month, and one’s you’re going to avoid. If you’ve got time!

    • Thanks Tony, I’m glad you’ve had fun reading the posts! It was quite tough not to repeat because there are some books that could fit into so many categories, and even trying to avoid that I still felt I repeated myself at points.
      It is! Definitely worth reading. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Wow, them 30 days went quick. I wish payday came round that fast.

    Gonna have to plonk the Game of Thrones book down for this one. I romped through them like a beast.

    Also, the only true Jem character is this one who appeared on Saturday morning TV. And yes, I used to fancy her when I was 13.

    • HA, well I’m glad it seemed quick to you because it seemed to go extremely slowly for me! I was really struggling at the end.

      Ahh more hype for GoT, I actually read the first few pages last night because I couldn’t resist! But I need to finish some other books first before I attempt it properly. I hope I like it!

      Lol, awh Michael and Jem, sitting in a tree. ๐Ÿ˜›

      • Ohh my gosh! I didn’t see the video because I answered your comment on my phone but I watched this TV show too! I couldn’t have told you what it was called or any of the characters names but I recognize it!

        We can all be embarrassed by our taste together. ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. There have been a couple of books I have read and couldn’t put down. The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks I sat and read in a day, telling myself just one more chapter and then I’ll get up and do my chores. It never happened!

    I enjoyed The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett I read it whilst watching the TV show and raced the series to find out how it ended by reading ahead, unfortunately the TV show beat me as its a thick book! I read the second book in the series quite soon after that but the third book is buried in my reading pile.

    Once a book gets me hooked I read it as much as I can but if it hits a boring patch I tend to slow down a bit. Nothing better than losing a day buried in a good book!

    • That’s always a good thing to hear! Lots of books you couldn’t put down, music to my ears. ๐Ÿ™‚ Oooh I loved The Last Songs so I highly approve of your choice. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Such a lovely book and you’re right, it totally sucks you in.

      I’ve never heard of The Pillars of the Earth, it sounds interesting! It’s so interesting that you read the book along with the TV series, that’s a pretty cool way of doing it, I should try that. I hope you find time for the third books soon!

      I do exactly the same thing, if a book gets boring I definitely slow down and I love getting stuck into a book all day. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Thanks for commenting, Charlie!

  5. Cannae believe you managed the whole 30 days! It doesn’t seem like that long. I’ve liked reading your thoughts daily.

    Again, sounds like another interesting set of books that you’ve pulled out of the woodwork. My TBR list is now laughably out of control.

    • Me neither! I honestly didn’t think I was going to make it, I really trudged over the finish line. ๐Ÿ˜› I’m glad it didn’t seem that long or get annoying for you, because it seemed to go on forever to me, LOL.

      Hahaaa, you’ll have to let me know if you ever decide to try them, I can empathise completely with your TBR pile woes. ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Congrats on making it through the 30 days, Becky! And I have no idea how I’ve never heard of this book. It sounds like something I would absolutely love to read. Adding it right now before I forget!

    As for me, I couldn’t put down Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. Even though it was the first time I’ve ever read a sci-fi novel. There’s also I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella. Such a fun, addictive novel! Oh, and Cinder and Scarlett by Marissa Meyer… and The Fault in Our Stars… haha, the list goes on!

    • Thank you, Zen! Although I loved taking part in the challenge I am quite glad that it is over now, 30 days seems like such a long time when you are doing it! Ohh yay, so excited to see that you like the sound of Numbers, I think it’s a really innovative fun series with a surprising amount of depth.

      I’ve heard a lot of praise for Ender’s Game over the years but like you never steer towards science fiction books, so that has put me off in the past. It’s encouraging to hear you enjoyed it it despite that. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hahaa it’s hard to choose when you really start thinking about it isn’t it?! ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Wooohooo! well done for finishing! I can only imagine how hard it must have been to only pick one book/series to mention, I’ve got a fair few that stick in my mind because of how quickly I raced through them! The Twilight Saga, The Last Song, Dark Heart Forever by Lee Monroe (I read that in one day!), Halo by Alexandra Adornetto, Die For Me by Amy Plum, Sweep by Cate Tiernan, Delirium by Lauren Oliver, Divergent by Veronica Roth, and The 50 Shades series. I’m currently reading Backstage Pass by Olivia Cunning after hearing someone talk about it on YouTube and thought the premise sounded interesting (it’s about a psychologist who goes on tour with a famous rock band, and being as obsessed with music as I am I was like ‘Hello :)’) and I’m pretty hooked on that at the moment. I’ve never read the Numbers trilogy but it does look interesting, I’ll have to give it a go when I’ve gotten through my TBR pile ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, Sophie! It definitely was tough to pick, that’s why I decided to rationalise it down to ones I had never mentioned before, it’s much more interesting that way I think. ๐Ÿ™‚ Definitely agree with The Last Song, Twilight and Sweep, loved all those books. I haven’t read any of the others but I have seen them in passing with very positive reviews! So glad to see you have hit some real jems lately.
      I only recently discovered that there was a whole Youtube book community and I was amazed. While I would never do it myself it is interesting to see people chatting about books on a different medium.
      Hope you get the chance to read Numbers one day. ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Where is the time flying to???? I can’t believe the 30 days is up! Kudos, Beckster! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I heard of this series before. Somebody recommended the first book to me a long time ago but I can’t remember who. (wait, it wasn’t you, was it? LOL).

    • Hahaa I know right? I mean 13 days have passed since you wrote this comment and I am only just replying! Whoops. :S Thank you!

      Ha ha it could quite possibly have been me, I haven’t come across many people that have read these books so it seems likely, I don’t remember though! ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Thank you, Emma! Haha it seemed really slow to me! Normally a month goes quickly but when I was doing this challenge it seemed to go on forever. ๐Ÿ˜›
      Numbers looks really good because it IS really good, definitely worth checking out if you are in the mood. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I remember being interested in the first book when it was published years back, but the teenage pregnancy angle put me off – the whole storyline just sounded too depressing. But you make it sound good! Thanks for highlighting this one today. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Ahhh that is fair enough, I wouldn’t say the storyline is depressing exactly but it’s definitely more intense than your run of the mill YA/children’s book, while it has a fun concept it also tackles some serious issues like teen pregnancy as you have mentioned. While this is an important aspect of the story it is not the main aspect, if that helps at all. ๐Ÿ™‚
      No problem, thanks for reading and commenting!

  10. A humungous congratulations on completing the 30 day challenge! I definitely couldn’t have done what you have just done. You have the stamina and the willpower of Bruce Bogtrotter from Matilda, but with slightly less cake and more books ๐Ÿ™‚ WELL DONE!

    • Thanks so much, Lottie! I have to admit this challenge did push me to my limits, it was tough and there were a few days in the middle where I was sure I wouldn’t get the posts out, but somehow it happened, even if it was five to midnight sometimes. ๐Ÿ˜› Ha, ha! That scene with the cake still horrifies and amazes me at the same time.

      Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. A) Congrats on finishing the challenge! YOU DID IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WOOOO! *breaks out the Butterbeer and chocolate frogs to celebrate*
    B) I am going to miss this series ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I look forward to the next time you do a challenge! I’ve really loved getting to see your faves, least faves, suggestions and warnings (i.e. regarding Evermore!).
    This series sounds very interesting and I’ve never heard of it, so thank you for highlighting something new (as you’ve done quite a few times now!) – I may check this out one day, but I’ll be sure to keep it in my memory banks. I’m sad your school didn’t continue with book fairs, but when one thinks about it, maybe they’ll be stopping such things everywhere pretty soon :/ Gather ye paperbacks while ye may! XD
    Great post, Becky! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thank you! Butterbear and chocolate frogs has to be the only TRUE way to celebrate the ending of this challenge, you are so right. Awhh, I’m glad you enjoyed it enough to miss it, that is definitely a good sign. ๐Ÿ˜€ Evermore is sure one to skip, with so many wonderful books in the world it’s kind of insulting that one got published, then again, a lot of people also like that book so who knows *shrugs shoulders.*
      No problem, it was my pleasure! I’m just glad I was able to rack my brains enough to come up with a few ‘unknown’ or ‘forgotten’ about books. I love when I can do that. ๐Ÿ™‚ Vise versa for your version of the challenge as well, I have encountered quite a few new books from yours too.
      I love my paperbacks, AIN’T NOBODY TAKIN’ AWAY MY PAPERBACK BOOKS. ๐Ÿ˜›

      Thank you, and thanks for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

