Freedom from the Institution that is University, Huzzar!

Lets Talk Real Life 5

I’m Freeeeeeeeee!!! *Waves Hands Energetically.*

I felt like it was about time I did another one of these update rambly post thingies. As of last week I handed in the last of my coursework, grumbled and complained through torturous exams (in my head of course, or I would have been disqualified) and packed up the last of my things and headed for home. My second year of university is officially over and I can for the most part, breathe a sigh of relief! At least until I get my results or start having to think about my dissertation (gulp).
I’m currently in denial.
To say work has been full on the last few months would be an understatement, but as a reward I now have a long, hopefully hot summer of reading and home comforts ahead. Woohoo! Most importantly, my cat will no longer have to make complex, life changing decisions without me like whether to go for the fish or chicken chunks in jelly.
I know, she will be so relieved.

After so many months of having one assignment after the other with little respite in between it actually feels a bit weird to have free time. It’s like I have this sense of guilt for sitting around reading and watching TV! I don’t think it’s all quite sunk in yet, I feel like I’ve been tricked by nargles or something.

One thing I am truly pleased about is my ability to put my heart back into this blog. It has been a struggle for me to get posts out…since January really. Although I was determined to keep up with blogging my mind has mostly been elsewhere, preoccupied by statistics and lab reports upon lab reports. The book review and meme posts have remained, but I have missed writing discussion posts and book hauls! Surprisingly, I have really missed reading classics too! I kind of feel a bit as if I’ve lost my blogging mojo. My writing, to me at least, has felt disorganized and more ramblely than even my normal over ramblely self and the words haven’t been flowing from my fingertips quite as easily. I think that was naturally, reflecting my state of mind. I’m looking forward to having free reign of my little space of the internet again and getting back in the swing of things with full on bookish enthusiasm! 🙂 So here’s a little peek at what could be coming up in the near future:

  • Thoughts on the hype monster that is The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.
  • The Influential Book Tag.
  • Long overdue opinions on Divergent, Catching Fire and The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug.
  • Book Hauls! (Seriously, there’s so many books I need to tell you about that I may have to do it in parts *claps hands excitedly.*)
  • A post on current book cover trends.
  • Thoughts on A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin.
  • A discussion about internet spoilers.

Huzzar! I’m getting excited just thinking about the prospect of writing each one of these. So much fun to be had. 🙂

But first, I must nap.

~ * ~

P.S. A quick word on the banner, for a while I have been looking for a way to streamline my personal posts and clearly separate them from my bookish ones. I also hate writing posts with no images attached, we are after all, visual creatures and I often have a lack relevant images for these kinds of posts. A fun little banner seemed like the perfect way to fix this. Why the dragons you ask? They are my favourite mythical creatures and sadly, my everyday life has a severe lack of them. 😛 I would be grateful if you could give me some anonymous feedback on the idea as your thoughts, as always, are very important to me!

Images Sources:
My own, please do not reuse.

41 thoughts on “Freedom from the Institution that is University, Huzzar!

  1. Well done on getting through year 2 – and enjoy the summer 🙂 Looking forward to seeing what you think of GoT – I’m starting it next week when I have a few days off.

  2. Uni is over? Hurrah! Now you’ll have time to tidy your room up, it’s a disgrace.

    Good to have Miss Day back doing her blogs, my boring days in the office aren’t quite the same without being able to immerse myself in someone else’s enthusiasm.

    My take on the banner question is that I’m too keen on it. When I come to this page you’ve already got the picture of the book at the very top and with the addition of that extra banner it means I have to scroll down before I come to any text. That probably sounds petty and daft but it means I ignore the banner completely and go straight to the text.

    • Hahaa, kidding aside I actually do need to do that. :S

      Thank you, if I can bring even a little bit of enthusiasm to someones grueling work day I’m a happy gal!

      Ahh, that’s an interesting point, I hadn’t thought of that. Something like that may become even more obvious if read on a phone or tablet. I tend to only access my blog the old fashioned way but that’s probably something I should think about. I will have a think about that, and also take the poll results into account. 🙂

  3. Sorry. I got distracted by the talk of cake.

    Where was I?

    Oh! That’s it. Congrats on making year two (50% of the way there?). Enjoy your downtime reading and not working too hard!

    Spare a thought for those of us who still toil in the mines of Moria and don’t come out for another. Eight. Weeks.

    • Completely understandable, I did too. 😛

      Thank you! I can’t wait to get my reading groove on, it’s going to be awesome. Yes, 50% of the way there, wohoo.

      You just raised your cool status by another 10 points in my eyes for using that Lord of the Rings reference, go Tony! Eugh, 8 weeks, but at least the end is in sight. Look forward to how much free writing time you’ll have and it’ll be here before you know it. 🙂

    • Thank you, it feels amazing! It is definitely weird, it’s like you concentrate so hard on finishing but once you’re free of the obligation and finally get there you’re like uh…now what? LOL.

    • Thanks, Michael. I’ve heard a lot of people describe second year as the ‘grueling slog’. Many have said that third year is more interesting so I hope you’re right! I think the hardest thing will be picking something for my dissertation, but once I’ve chosen hopefully I’ll really enjoy it. 🙂

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      • Ohh good, I’m glad to hear that. I hope you will enjoy the review. It’s a good film and well worth watching if you’re a fan of Tolkien-ey goodness. 🙂

  4. YAY! *throws confetti in celebration of your wrapping up the year!* I’m really happy that you’ve muddled (and muggled) through another year of uni. I’m sure your marks will be excellent! I’m also really excited to see your upcoming posts *omgIwanttoreadtheThronesonesobaaaaad*! And most definitely the cat comment had me cracking up hahahaha 😄

    • *Swirls around in confetti with hands up trying to grab it.* Thank you. 🙂 I know, right? This year was a real push but it’s so odd to think there’s only one year more of it to go! Your confidence is inspiring, I hope you’re right.
      Oh yay, I’m glad to hear that. I have no idea how I’m going to put my thoughts about A Game of Thrones into words yet!

      🙂

  5. Wow. University finishes early, or maybe I’m so old I’m having trouble remembering my college years. 🙂
    Enjoy the summer holidays. Go mad.

    • It does indeed. Most finish pretty early but I just happened to be lucky that a lot of my assignments were due on the earlier side rather than the later. Hehee, maybe. 🙂

      Thank you, I will!

  6. Yayyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!! You’re free!!! Now we can talk books all summer long, and after working so hard, you deserve to read all day every day if you want. Personally, I am freaking out waiting to hear about your book hauls :).

  7. YAY, fuck university! (Well, until September…) You’re through all of the exams and lab reports for now so I say lounging around with a book/TV is the only correct course of action. Dissertation? Pfft, smissertation! It’ll be grand. Just enjoy your longggg summer off, you’ve earned it!

    Really pleased you’ll be able to blog more! SO MANY THINGS I CAN’T WAIT TO READ. You tease us so!

    P.S. Nice banner 😉

    • Hahaha, so eloquently put, I approve! Definitely, I feel as if it is my right to be a couch potato for AT LEAST a month. I’m trying to put the whole dissertation thing at the back of my mind for now and pretend it doesn’t exist. Besides, I’ve got to hope that I’ve passed this year first! Thank you. 🙂

      Yay, I’m pleased that you’re pleased! Hopefully my sluggishness will wear off and I’ll be able to actually write some of those soon. Right now I’m struggling with writing my TFiOS review.

      Why thank you, Charl. 😉

  8. YAY! WEEEEEEEEE!!!!! Enjoy your freedom in the sun! And don’t feel guilty, you deserve a break, in fact it is mandatory,I ORDER THEE to have fun! 😀
    And of course you are probably aware that I know what you mean about the blogging…I haven’t blogged in 6 months – the longest absence ever for me!!! #ohdear
    Took part in your poll: I nearly clicked on that last option because there was mention of cake but that’s not how I feel. I love the banner idea… and dragons! 😀

    • Hahaa! Thanks, Nisha.
      I know, I know in my heart I shouldn’t feel guilty but it’s this weird underlying feeling that I can’t control at the moment. It’s been so long since I’ve had any amount of time to myself without any educational obligations that it feels unnatural. The horror! But thank you, I will consider that as doctor-ley advice and throw it at anyone who tries to make me do anything. 😉

      Yes, get back blogging missy! I miss you being on the Press, you were the blogger I’ve always looked up to and I miss your posts, and your very lovely comments on my blog too of course. 😛

      The cake is tempting, I completely understand. Yay, thank you, glad you like it!

  9. Congratulations on finishing your second year! I remember when I finished I felt a bit guilty for reading and watching TV too! But you deserve a break after doing all your assignments 🙂 Happy reading and I look forward to reading your future posts.

    • Thank you, Gemma. 🙂 It’s definitely a weird side effect of having summer off. Even though I needed a break in a weird way I almost want to get the last of my degree finished now instead of having a break in between! I’m so close to finishing and yet so far.

      Thanks, and thank you for following!

  10. I’m really looking forward to reading your future posts! I bet it’s nice to know you don’t have to worry and can just relax for a while. 🙂

  11. CONGRATULATIONS MISSY! EEEEE SUMMER IS HERE. I’m feeling your freedom sister, and it feels gooooood. Haha! Well done on getting through all the nasty stuff – I hope you have a gorgeous, blog-full relaxing summer.

    Looking forward to your posts on TFIOS, I’ll be interested in seeing how similar our views are, because I know we share the same taste in books more or less! Don’t worry too much about losing your blogging mojo. I always get that straight after a heavy load of work at uni. It will just take you a a little while to get back into it!

    Also, LOVE the banner! Very cute and I’m loving the dragon eggs. x

    • THANK YOU. Gosh yeah I can’t even imagine. I’m so relieved to be done with second year but that feeling must be threefold for you having finished your final one, wahoo! Me too. 🙂

      Oooh yay, I hope you like it! It took me a while to write because I wanted to make sure what I was saying was clear, so that even those who loved the book could understand why I disliked it, if that makes sense. Also, it took me a while to work out what I wanted to say!

      Thanks for the vote of confidence, I hope you’re right. 🙂 I think deadlines have definitely been weighing me down on the blogging front. Hopefully summer will be the perfect cure.

      Yaaaaayyyy, thank you! So glad you like it. 😀

Leave a Reply

