Quoting the Quill #59

Quoting the Quill

“Life has many ways of testing a person’s will, either by having nothing happen at all or by having everything happen all at once.”

– Paulo Coelho

~ * ~

Hey everyone, sorry it’s been a little quiet around here lately! But as the above quote suggests, the universe works in strange ways. Do you ever find that things always seem to happen in one go? You can have months of downtime and suddenly BOOM, everything happens at once. It seems to be working that way for me at the moment.

At the start of April, I went on my much anticipated, lifelong dream trip to Italy to see Rome, and it was amazing!! (Post coming soon). Then the week that I got back, I had to take and somehow managed to pass my driving test. Shortly after, an opportunity to go to Germany for three days to visit the Hannover business fair came up. (Not that interesting for a lay person like me, but still a cool experience, and it meant I could tick another country off my list!)

Then the next day after I got back, I spotted a car on Autotrader and went to go and see it. I bought it and then had to sort out all the legal stuff. Then, because I was officially on the road, I was able to re-contact some places I had gone to for job interviews (in which previously it had turned out I couldn’t make the hours because of public transport). The next day, one of them contacted me and I was called in for a trial shift at the weekend, and this week I have my first two official days on the job in the hotel industry. Phew! Mind boggling, scary and exciting stuff! Lots of unchartered waters, meeting new people and learning new things. April and May have turned out to be pretty crazy, huh? I’m still processing.
My brain.
So done.
Agh.

Do you ever seem to find that things happen all at once? How has May been going for you so far?

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

9 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #59

  1. Welcome back! Sounds like a busy time. Personally, I’ve been told my job is gone after September (been at my current job for ten years…) and I’ve been filling out so many application forms my eyes are crossing… 😦 So, you know, pretty quiet apart from life-changing. 🙂

    Rome sounds cool, looking forward to seeing some of those pics.

    • Thanks, Tony. 🙂
      Ohh no, that’s horrible news! I’m so sorry to hear that. 😦 Must be so stressful. I wish you the best of luck on the job hunt. As someone who has recently done one, I know how frustrating and time-consuming it can be. Personally, I think they’re losing an awesome asset. After all, who’s going to tip those librarian’s off for awesome YA recs? 😉

      There will definitely be lots of pics!

  2. Woot, woot!!! Congrats Book Buddy on the driver’s licence, new car, and new job. I am so proud of you and can’t wait to hear about all your new adventures :). Ahh Rome – I am trying to convince Mikey that Italy should be our next big trip to save for. Should I tell him you agree?

    • Thank youuu! It’s so exciting, Such a milestone. Although it still feels weird driving on my own, like I shouldn’t be allowed, LOL. I’m definitely not used to it yet.

      You definitely need to go to Rome, the Trvi Fountain is one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen!!! Tell Mikey that I said you have to go, and that if he says no I will kick his butt, and that I may be little and friendly, but I have a mighty right hook. 😉

  3. This quote is the story of my life. I can be in lulls for months (even years) where nothing is happening then suddenly, stuff is flying at me from all directions. I appreciate the nothingness and the everythingness, but I do wish life would spread it out a bit more evenly 😉

    So much has been happening for you recently! Write a post about ALL OF IT. I’m nosy and want to live vicariously through you, please.

    P.s. Does the new brum brum have a name? I’ve recently got a new one and he’s totes a Rupert.

    • Yes, yes and YUSS. Agreed. I would definitely appriciate if life could spread things out a little more evenly. 😛

      I know, it’s crazy! I don’t know where all these positive things are coming from, but I like it. 🙂 I’m sure I’ll get one of those lulls soon enough, though. 😉 Definitely planning on posting about my Italy trip, expect lots of pictures and squealing, haha.

      No, he doesn’t, but I’m glad you brought it up! I really want to name him (and I feel like it should be a he, with an old fuddy-duddy quirky type name like Frederick or William or something because it’s a very old car that belonged to someone older originally) but I am USELESS with naming. Any suggestions?!

      P.S. Haha, Rupert. 😛

Leave a Reply

