Quoting the Quill #19

quoting the quill small

“Books fall open,
you fall in,
delighted where
you’ve never been.
Hear voices not once heard before,
Reach world through world,
through door on door.
Find unexpected keys to things,
locked up beyond imaginings…
True books will venture,
Dare you out,
Whisper secrets,
Maybe shout,
Across the gloom,
to you in need
Who hanker for a book to read.”

– David McCord

~ * ~

Holy wow! I found this quote yesterday and completely fell in love with it. Each time I read it I feel the emotion behind it, as well as the wonder and adventure that comes with reading a book. I think this has shot straight to the top of my favourite quotes! 😀 I found it on Pinterest here, so I’m hoping it’s the accurate formatting because little things get changed when they fly around the internet. It was originally from a poem so it’s possible that this is just a snippet of a longer piece. I need to do some research and find out but I was too excited not to use it for this weeks Quoting the Quill! Either way, I am definitely going to be searching out Mr McCord’s work. This quote is so brilliant  that I would consider putting it on my wall. I hope all the other bookworms out there like it as much as I do. 😀

~ * ~

Quoting the Quill is an every other week meme created by me at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic. It runs every other Wednesday. Want to find out more or join in the fun? Check out the details here.

Image Sources:
Quoting the Quill: My own, feel free to reuse if you want to use the meme too, just remember to link back. 🙂

27 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #19

    • Wohoo, my job is done. 😛 So glad you liked it! I’m really enjoying reading it over and over right now.

      They are, they should share some of their talent around, don’t you think?

    • Hey, there is a slight bit missing from the poem as written above. Here is a link to the full poem. Would you believe that David McCord lived to be 100 and that he wrote it to “invite children to the enchanting world of books”?

      • Ah, I thought there might be! I did come across one image where there seemed to be more of it so that kind of tipped me off. I liked the way this version flowed though and I didn’t have the time to search further, so I ended up going with this one.

        I would love the link to the full version if that’s possible? 🙂

    • Thanks Cindy, I just knew you would love this one!! It’s so simply done but well executed. I might even have to try and memorize it. 🙂 The words wonder and adventure should be used more often!

      • Ok, this is driving me crazy. I was sure I put the link in, and now every time I try to reply, it doesn’t post my reply. Arggghh! You might end up getting multiple copies of the same reply from me :). Ok, here is the link: http://novelties.edublogs.org. There is not too much added, but I think I actually like the shorter version because it seems to flow better. What do you think?

      • I am horrified that WordPress put you into spam MULTIPLE TIMES. How dare it! Don’t they know who you ARE? Hmmph. 😛 I’m guessing it didn’t like the link you added and for some reason it decided to throw a hissy fit. Thanks for letting me know because I am not checking my blog as regularly lately and I might have missed it. 🙂

        Oooh no, I see what you mean, I much prefer the shorter version! I don’t like it very much when poems don’t rhyme. I’m sure every knowledgeable person on poetry would strongly disagree but I find it jarring. Seems we are once again in agreement. 🙂

    • Me too, it’s so whimsical and really reels you in so that you feel instantly as if you are experiencing what he is experiencing. 🙂

      There’s nothing like a good book that’s for sure!

    • Thanks Nisha, I’m glad you liked it. I hadn’t heard of David McCord either until I came across him, seems he was a hidden gem. I wish I could write great quotes like this, instead I must simply bow to his greatness. 😛

      I hope the writing/studying is going well!

Leave a Reply

