The Disney Book Tag!

The Disney Book Tag
I know what you’re thinking, books and Disney in the same sentence? WHAT IS THIS GLORIOUSNESS? AND CAN I HAVE SOME OF IT? Well, yes, yes you can. I was tagged to participate in this by the wonderful Emma at She Reads Books, and because I think this is such an awesome idea, I am tagging anyone and everyone who wants to give this a go themselves! Oh, and make sure to leave me the links to your posts so we can discuss all the fun things. 🙂
So, off we go!

1. The Little Mermaid – A character that is out of their element, a “Fish out of  Water”.

The Little Mermaid  Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

This one has to be Cath from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, who I love dearly! Cath is the kind of person that clings to what’s familiar, whether that’s her twin sister, Wren or her love of  writing fan fiction about her favourite book series. So when Cath goes to university she is sent into a spiral when faced with new people and surroundings, even avoiding the dining hall and living off protein bars because she doesn’t know where the hall is or what the etiquette will be. It’s safe to say, her college roommate thinks she’s very strange!

2. Cinderella – A character that goes through a major transformation.

Cinderella  The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

David and Leo from The Art of Being Normal. fit this one perfectly! I’m going to focus on David here though in order to avoid spoilery things. In this book the character David is transgender, and has known his whole life that he is a girl trapped inside a boy’s body, yet fears to tell anyone the truth. But when he becomes friends with the new boy in school, Leo, and goes off on a road trip style mission with him, he finally gets the chance to try out what it’s like to be a girl where no one knows him, which gives him the strength and courage to begin transitioning.

3. Snow White – A book with an eclectic cast of characters.

Snow White and Dwarves  The Diviners by Libba Bray

For this one I have to pick The Diviners by Libba Bray, no other book suits this headline better! This novel had such a magnificently diverse cast of characters and I’m not just talking about ethnicity but interests, personality, cultural background, sexuality and socioeconomic status. It was so refreshing! And the book was all the more entertaining and enjoyable because of it. MORE BOOKS LIKE THIS PLEASE AUTHORS. KEEP THE AWESOME COMING!

4. Sleeping Beauty – A book that put you to sleep.

Sleeping Beauty  Matched by Ally Condie

I picked Matched by Ally Condie up randomly from the library before I had ever heard of the concept of a dystopian society (oh, those were the days). While the book started off well and had an interesting set-up where characters were matched with their perfect partner for life based on some super duper clever computer statistics, the writing was bland. The romance? Yawn. And there’s was loads of random poetry appreciation, and we all know Becky does NOT LIKE POETRY. As the characters blabbered on about appreciating art I found myself dozing off. (Unfortunately, I was not woken up by a chivalrous Prince!)

5. The Lion King – A character that had something traumatic happen to them in their childhood.

The Lion King  To Kill a Mockingbird

I’m pretty sure this one should be labeled ‘every YA book ever’, so for the sake of this question I’m going to be a rebel and go for something a little less obvious. I pick Scout and Jem from To Kill a Mockingbird. Not only do this brother and sister lose their mother at a young age, but their idyllic life in the south is interrupted by a controversial trial of a black man which exposes them to the unfairness and horrors of the real world a little too soon.

6. Beauty and the Beast – A beast of a book (a big book) that you were intimidated by, but found the story to be beautiful.

Beauty and the Beast  It by Stephen King

As a general rule, I’m not intimidated by big books so nothing immediately came to mind for this category, but the closest thing would probably be It by Stephen King. It’s the biggest book I’ve ever read at 1,376 pages and I was somewhat nervous to pick it up because I had never read one of King’s novels before and I wasn’t sure how scary it would be or if I would like his style! Despite the somewhat bizarre plot points and King’s crass sense of humour, there was a real beauty to the characters and I completely fell in love with all their bizarre nerdy quirks.

7. Aladdin – A character that get’s their wish granted, for better or for worse.

Aladdin  The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I’m thinking Hazel from The Fault in Our Stars. For many years, Hazel was obsessed with the author who wrote her favourite book, An Imperial Affliction, and was desperate to find out what happened to the characters after the book ended. So when Gus uses his wish left over from the cancer Wish Foundation to allow Hazel to meet the author, she’s ecstatic. But the problem with meeting your idol is that they are not always what you expect, and it turns out the answer to her questions isn’t as satisfying as she was hoping. On the plus side, she gets to spend time with the dreamy Gus in Amsterdam, so silver lining?

8. Mulan – A character that pretends to be something or someone they are not.

Mulan  The Manifesto on How to be Interesting by Holly Bourne

Bree from The Manifesto on How to be Interesting seems like a perfect choice for this question! In an attempt to become more interesting in order to improve her novel writing skills and therefore get published, Bree sheds her ‘loser’ status by getting a new hairdo, wearing makeup and buying new clothes in an attempt to infiltrate the popular crowd at her school. She finds a new found freedom and enjoyment out of life by doing so, but starts to lose who she is along the way.

9. Toy Story – A book with characters you wish would come to life.

Toy Story  The Hunger Gamess

Woody volunteer’s Peeta as tribute! Okay, okay, I’ll be honest, I mostly just want to steal him away from Katniss so I can have him all to myself, because I’m pretty sure we’re secretly soul mates *Shh, don’t tell anyone*. But Peeta from The Hunger Games also has other key attributes that would be useful if he were real. For starts, he can cook, and I hate cooking. This would be very handy, especially as I love the smell of freshly made bread! Secondly, he’s a great talker and wins over a crowd with ease, so he could help my introverted self navigate parties without wanting to tear my eyeballs out, thirdly, I feel his quiet strength and calming influence would be useful in a crisis!

10. Disney Descendants – Your favourite villain or morally ambiguous character.

Disney Villians  A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

Although I could probably pick almost any character from the A Song of Ice and Fire series to answer this question, I think Petyr Baelish has earned himself this spot. He’s one of the most morally ambiguous characters I’ve EVER come across. He’s played a role in several big character deaths but doesn’t seem to have an allegiance to anyone but himself, and just when you think you’ve worked him out: BOOM. He suddenly goes and does something unexpected, or is uncharacteristically kind to a character and you start to like him… just in time for him to go and stab one of your favourite characters in the back!

~ * ~

Phew, that was a lot of fun. Now I tag ALL OF YOU!

Did you agree with any of my answers? Is there any specific book or character you would have chosen for one of the categories? What is your favourite Disney movie? 🙂

44 thoughts on “The Disney Book Tag!

  1. This is basically my favorite post ever solely because you combined books and Disney, two of my most favorite things ever. I actually agree with all of the choices, especially the Lion King/TKAM one. Lately, I’ve been watching some of the classics like The Rescuers and The Black Cauldron, but my most favorite Disney film is hands down, The Hunchback of Notre Dame even though, yes, it is a more tame version of the Hugo novel because the scenery, soundtrack, characters…EVERYTHING about it was a masterpiece.

    For The Little Mermaid, another possibility could be “Billy and Me” by Giovanna Fletcher because once Sophie May and Billy become an item, she’s all of a sudden thrusted into this whimsical celebrity lifestyle, completely out of her comfort zone, and tries to become part of it for Billy’s sake, but is then thwarted by his manager/agent.

    • Yay, I’m so glad you liked this post so much! Books and Disney are two of my favourite things too, so I got really excited when I was tagged. Feel free to give this a go yourself as well if you want to. 🙂
      Ah, I used to LOVE The Black Cauldron when I was younger, I don’t think I’ve seen it in AT LEAST 12 years. I would love to experience it again as an adult. 🙂 I’m a big fan of The Hunchback of Notre Dame, it’s a shame it wasn’t on this list. I loved how it was about the best and worst of human nature. Oooh, did you read the book?! I have it on my shelf but have yet to pick it up. Did you enjoy it?

      I’ve never heard of Billy and Me but it sounds perfect for The Little Mermaid one, good choice! The story sounds interesting too.

      Thanks for commenting. 😀

      • You should totally rewatch it. It was actually my first time watching The Black Cauldron and I absolutely loved it, especially since Elionwy is such a kickass female character. And I think I will give it a go a bit later! I actually did quite enjoy reading The Hunchback of Notre Dame. Obviously, the story Hugo wrote is darker (then again, it is set in the Middle Ages), but I think he does really well with the character development. I also like the theme of cultural evolution throughout the novel.

      • Ahahaa, yeah, don’t you just love it that the guy gets rescued by the girl?! I do remember that it used to scare me a bit when I was young, but I don’t think I would have that problem now!

        That’s good to hear. Most of the real stories behind Disney are darker, so I’m not surprised by that. It’s become one of those novels that has sat on my shelves for ages so I think I just need to bite the bullet and give it ago, and then I’ll probably end up loving it. 🙂 The cultural evolution aspect does sound interesting!

      • Sorry, I just have to jump in and fangirl here. Have you read the Prydain Chronicles (Author Lloyd Alexander), source of The Black Cauldron? Not to beat a dead horse, but the books are so, so much better than the movie. Eilonwy is kinda my hero. 😀

      • NO WAY. THERE’S A BOOK!?!?! I’d never even thought to look at what the original source material was, but of course Disney often base their stories off existing ones. I am looking this up IMMEDIATELY. Thanks for the tip!

        Eilonwy is awesome. 🙂

  2. Aww, using TFIOS for #7 was a cute idea, very literal too. But remember what Hazel and Gus come to learn: “The world is not a wish granting factory.” 🙂 Great post!

  3. I can’t stop watching that Little Mermaid clip, it’s hypnotic.

    TKAMB is a good choice for the Lion King.

    For Mulan, I would choose Gandalf from Lord of the Rings. A supposed all-powerful wizard who doesn’t do shit. The man is a fraud.

    Toy Story is my favourite Disney film. It’s when they finally – FINALLY! – decided to get shot of all those tedious songs.

    And yes, poetry is a load of guff.

    • Hahaa, me too, watching the guy’s eyebrow raise in disbelief repeatedly is pretty funny to watch!

      Glad you approve of To Kill a Mockingbird, and I know you have some serious, deep-seated resentment for Gandalf so I’m not surprised you would pick him for that! I get what you mean though, he’s a right pain in the butt disappearing when he’s most needed and he barely ever uses his magic for anything useful.

      Toy Story is pretty epic.

  4. Love your answers!! I totally agree with all of them! My favourite Disney movie currently is a Tangled. Recent, but a goody! x

    • Thank you, Emma! I’m so happy you tagged me in this because I had so much fun doing it. I really enjoyed Tangled as well, but I’ve only seen it once and I’m desperate to see it again. I’m not such a fan of the new Disney but Tangled is the exception. 🙂

  5. Cute! I love the gifs right next to the book covers. I would take on this tag because I LOVE Disney (and books), but even thinking about it now I can’t come up with very many good answers ha ha.

    • Me too! I’d never tried doing it this way before and thought of it on a whim, but I love the way it turned out. 🙂
      Spoil sport! (Just kidding 😉 ) That’s fair enough, I really struggled to come up with some of the answers as well, but I was adamant to try and stay away from using Harry Potter (because that could have applied to all the questions!)

      • I’m blaming it on a major book brain cramp. I jus don’t feel creative lol. And I know what you mean – Harry Potter pretty much applies to everything. 🙂

  6. The black cauldron would be one of my favourites, and your so right it would be good to see it again 🙂
    Also
    The return of the high king looks promising.
    And
    POETRY, here’s one i saw 2day 😛
    The lust after life in the chills of its lust
    Claims a passport of death.
    The lover of life sees the flame in our dust
    And a gift in our breath.

    If you steal peeta, can I have Katniss???
    I have much more poetry 😐

  7. I’m not sure I’d come up with better answers than these! I second the love of Tangled – best Disney movie in a long time. ({Blows raspberry} at Frozen. 🙂 )

    • I agree, I wish I had thought of it, but I’m not that inventive, haha!

      YOU’VE NEVER SEEN MULAN?! I AM IN SHOCK. (forget about Sleeping Beauty, nobody cares about sleeping beauty). Mulan is epic! It’s my second favourite Disney movie (with The Lion King coming in first). I think you need to not-so-subtly hint to your family that you need that DVD in your life next time you have a present-worthy event. 😉

  8. Pingback: The disney book tag | The Perks of Being a Bookworm

  9. I haven’t got to Fangirl yet, but I read glowing reviews about it everywhere!
    Sleeping Beauty – a book that put you to sleep. Lol.
    I too loved the nerd squad from IT.

  10. Pingback: Book Tag Thursday: Disney Book Tag | lifeofafemalebibliophile

Leave a comment